Archive for April 30th, 2008

Strawbales

Straw bale HouseThere is new building construction happening all over my campus.  Large craters of dirt, huge cranes, burning tar, and metal beams every where I turn! The latest building started has a chain link fence surrounding the site (smart idea, so sleep-deprived students won’t stray into their doom.) Next to the fence is a berm of straw bales, I guess to serve as a bumper for the equipment operators. The string of bales is rather long. What would you think of, when you see so many bales lined up like that?

I thought, “A house!”

There has to be enough bales sitting out in the elements to build a sturdy, almost tornado-proof, home.

Now, with those piles of dirt…

You could build something like this!

With all that dirt, strawbales, left over brick, metal scraps, and other construction debris, they could build at least two good quality homes.

I hope you are illuminated as to the possibilities of overlooked items. 🙂


April 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 430,217 hits