What Modesty Does to Your Life

Me, rambling about headcovering.

For Kim. 😉

6 Responses to “What Modesty Does to Your Life”


  1. 1 Kim December 5, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    Thank you for answering my question. I totally agree with you in terms of wanting to be accepted, and being unable to pray as much – it’s hard. It really is. We have women who wear mantillas at the Cathedral but AFAIK, not full time covering. I’m surprised no one has asked me about them, but kind of glad because I don’t want to have to get into it…I guess I’m kind of afraid. I think a lot of it also has to do with the whole “representative of the Lord” aspect. I always screw up and then I think people are judging me, so then I stop. Ugh. It’s another reason why I don’t really talk about it on my blog as much, because I tend to be non-confrontational and am just shy in this area (oh, the irony!). Granted, another thing that may have helped was I started wearing skirts only and returned to headcovering while was pregnant. I remember telling Greg I could make that shift in my life while pregnant because no one would question the pregnant woman like they did last summer (heck, even my boss called me into her office to ask what was “going on”). It’s December and I’m still exclusively skirts, which is good because that’s something the Good Lord has really made fruitful in my life. I still get scared to put on a covering, but when I do; it’s wonderful. I’ve made my goal to cover every day in the new liturgical year (which started for us on Sunday). So far, I’m good; but man, it’s terrifying at times.

    Hello, ramble much? LOL Sorry for dumping all this in your comments. :X But thank you again for answering my question, I really appreciate it. *hugs*

  2. 2 Christine December 5, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Excellent video. I have a question if you ever feel like doing a video answer to it would be great.

    Ever since you have been headcovering how have you handled friends and family who were use to seeing you without it and suddenly having to come face to face with them with a headcovering? I do not want to hear about how one “should” respond but personally for you what was the experience like.

    Dressing modestly doesn’t have the shock value as does wearing a headcovering from my own experience. I would love to hear your own personal journey dealing with that issue. I am at that point where I struggle around family (not so much with friends) because they are not “practicing Christians” and find it stupid and crazy to headcover.

    really enjoy the videos!
    Christine

  3. 3 L December 6, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    Anna,
    I thought you might like to know that you have been cited as an inspiration here- http://freetocover.blogspot.com/

  4. 4 Megan December 6, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    Hello Anna,

    I’d be interested in hearing about your experiences at work. And family, as Christine said. Such thoughful videos, thak you for sharing 🙂
    Megan

  5. 5 Benjamin December 9, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    Hello, I noticed you said you were the only young lady who dresses right in your whole county. Good job. Thank you for being open about it and posting the video. – Benjamin

  6. 6 Emily July 2, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Anna, thanks for sharing about your journey. I recently read 1 Corinthians 11 and became aware that I should be covering my head. Unfortunately, it is taking me a while to gain the courage to move forward. It’s nice to be able to do a search online and find such honest discussion about the blessings and struggles of headcovering! May God bless your obedience.


Leave a comment




December 2008
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 430,216 hits