Modesty is Humility in Action

Rebecca left a thought-provoking comment at MintheGap yesterday morning:

Fashion and modesty are at odds: it’s a diabolical plot!

No, I’m serious.

I aggreed with her. I love how God gets me motivated through online discussion. Consider me dusted off and back on the Trail again!

Fashion’s M.O. is to entice people into believing a lie: that your self-worth is bound to the revealing clothing you put on your body. To be proud of your body by exposing it to everyone (what so many think as “body-positive”) still is pride, which drags us away from God.

Modesty is humility in action. Through what we wear, how we speak, and prefer others above ourselves, we are being the Salt and Light. It is more than being concerned with keeping a brother from sinning; modesty takes into account the other’s spiritual and physical well-being and guides you into proper action.

Should I drop a bucket of cash on expensive modest clothing (fashionable styles that must be replaced seasonally) when my dear sister can barely afford one good dress? Of course not! I restrain my budget and share the abundance.

If a person is sharing about their accomplishments, however small, you encourage them and rejoice with them instead of gloating over your higher acheivement. When you receive accolades, you receive the joy but always with the memory of where you are in Christ: a bonds-woman bought with a price.

2 Responses to “Modesty is Humility in Action”


  1. 1 Peter Plum August 3, 2007 at 7:57 am

    Thanks for the link, Anna.

    You bring up an excellent point. I had never thought about the cost of modest clothing and what the impact of buying modest clothing might be on modesty.

    Whew!

  2. 2 Rebecca August 3, 2007 at 10:29 am

    Anna, you bring up such a good point about sharing, too! Lately I’ve been around alot of talk about extreme plastic surgery and ultra expensive shoes. That’s just plain immoral, in my book! When there are people DYING for lack of simple basics.


Leave a comment




August 2007
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 430,215 hits