Archive for July 31st, 2008

Oklahoma Dismal Voter Turn Out

Since the powers-that-be have been tracking the numbers, this past primary vote on July 29th was perhaps the worst voter turn out on record in the state’s history.

I wonder why. Let me review:

  1. I have not seen, nor heard, nor read, nor otherwise been inculcated with ANY campaign information. Nada, zilch, none. From the Republicans, that is. Plenty of signs for the County Clerk position, which were two Democrats running against each other. We didn’t know that going into the polling place.
  2. The Media [ahem, channel 7!!!] have not spoken a word in the weeks leading up to the primary, that there was indeed a primary taking place and what/who we would be voting for. Instead, they preferred to share the gruesome details of violent deaths from other states to fill their evening news hour.
  3. We managed to hear through our political grapevine that there was a primary the day BEFORE.
  4. We knew we didn’t want to vote for the incumbent senator, but, we had no idea whom to chose from the other three people running. I guessed. Jeff chose the woman, I chose one of the two men.

We live in a pretty darn SAD state in the U.S. of A. No political choice…and when there is a choice, they don’t want us to know.


July 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 430,217 hits