Archive for July 1st, 2007

Cosmetics – Modest or Immodest?

Kelli asked last week if I wear makeup or jewelry. I’ll write about cosmetics in this post and jewelry later this week.

The short answer is no, I don’t wear makeup of any sort except plain old Burt’s Bees lipbalm. 🙂 I also have “problem skin” due to hormonal issues so I use a clear acne medication and spf moisterizer in the mornings. That’s it! The last time I wore makeup was for a job interview last August. I still have the bag of petroleum based products and really, according the experts, I should throw it all out.

Cosmetics are a grey area for many ladies. Some wear a little, some wear full-coverage everything along with their coverings and modest clothing. For me, I think the whole kit and caboodle (lipstick, mascara, eyeshadow, etc.) proclaims that I am still an object of beauty for the world’s perusal. Jeff actually doesn’t like it when I wander into the makeup aisles in Walmart! He thinks I’m gorgeous without it. Besides, for most Christian covering styles, it just looks silly, in my not so modest opinion.

I can understand having poor skin or a birthmark or some sort of flaw that you would like to cover up or “even out” your skin tone. In time, though, maybe you should give it over to God and consider giving up the time, expense and pretense of cosmetics. Its hard, I know, but the heart issues work themselves out when you want to honor Jesus.

What do you all think about cosmetics? Do you use a little, a lot, or have thrown it all away?


July 2007
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 430,217 hits