Get Your Stuff Together Week

I can only see a couple of patches of blank desk bigger than 2 inches square. I had to step over a pile of dirty clothing and jumble of shoes to hang up the clean laundry. Paperwork? HA! in piles beside the desk, on the bedroom floor (!) and stuck random places. The bathroom stinks. Literally. Let’s not even trespass in the sewing area or the yarn tribbles. This is getting hoarding-scary, peoples.

My life has not been functioning well.

I have so very many good things, creative and potentially amazing things to accomplish but I am stuck in fear and guilt over STUFF. And time. Like how to manage it properly.

I can use rightful excuses like my mother and the family dog have terminal cancer and therefore need care and household maintenance. How can I flow with that if I can’t properly walk across the bedroom?

To use a common phrase, “I GOT this!” Neatness is not beyond me. Orderly behavior is achievable. I am a smart woman. This CAN be done.

Anyone want to join me? We can hold each others’ hands virtually through the pain and triumph.

Each day I will tackle a room or segment of clutter. The bedroom is already under progress but it will take more than today to get it in shape.

Some ladies take pictures of their before/after living rooms or bookshelves. To be honest, I am really ashamed of the “before” in most cases. Much of the pre-existing clutter of our living space and my sewing work area is my parents. I can deal with my schtuff and leave theirs alone for now.

Tactics: Fly Lady time scheduling of 15 minute bouts. Rest and repeat until the space conforms to your ideal.

Let’s do it, ladies!

8 Responses to “Get Your Stuff Together Week”


  1. 1 philologia May 29, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    Count me in!

  2. 2 thegeekywife May 30, 2010 at 9:24 am

    I’ll join in, but I dare not post photos!

    My DH said he was tired of us being behind in the dishes, so he has overtaken that task over the past week and it has been so helpful to both of us! Apparently I’m still adjusting to working part-time (library circ clerk) AND homemaking!

  3. 3 Dani_leia May 30, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    You can do it! I’ve been FLYing for about a month now. You will love the peace it brings you.

  4. 4 Alana May 31, 2010 at 8:52 am

    I have plans to get on top of house work this summer as well. But first must sew a rehearsal dinner dress and a wedding dress, and do some grading.

    at least the kids are “officially” out of school, although my two olders are still finishing up some science at their leisure this summer.

    But yes…the clutter, the mess and the creativity…hard to balance. I think I’ll go put away the clean laundry that my daughter sorted for me. Yeah. Right away. As in: Now. Ha.

  5. 5 Wendy May 31, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    I’ll jump in, too! But if I do I might be buried! 🙂 I’ll try to take pictures but it’d be really hard to post them…my kids want to post, I’ll see if I can work up the courage! I’ll try the FLYlady method, too.
    Wendy

  6. 6 J in VA June 1, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    Anna and ladies,

    While I love and use many of the FlyLady’s methods. I can not support many of her New Age ideas which are not Biblical.

    I was a member and followed/listened to her podcasts for many months. But, some of her comments began to disturb me and my dh asked that I not listen anymore. I think he was concerned about those words lingering in my head.

    I only offer these words in Christian love and as a caution to proceed with your eyes open if you pursue her teachings further.

  7. 8 Jill Wilson August 2, 2010 at 2:02 am

    Anna…don’t bug over it, or try to over the top motivate. Do this simple thing. Look around at a place where you are at and start there, just clean in a circle, leaving behind the clean. Start only at a five minute job. Don’t think you have to do everything at once. When you put away things as you clean and go into other rooms…look around when you go into the room, and pick up something or just make it a little nicer. This is my secret. I do a small job, by the time it is done, I am motivated. Also, if I am in a room for any reason…i look around and see if i can find a 30 second job, or a 2 minute job. By doing this you will get in a swift habit of working. I know this is silly, but I don’t call it cleaning, since that has too much angst to it, I call it decorating, and I always try to make it look a little nicer and happier.

    Also..i like to load the dishwasher and have it working while I do other things…doubling up my time. Also the laundry can go while I am vacuuming. Another doubling of my time.

    I try to spend 4 hours a day doing household type things. 4 hours doing vocational type things, and 4 hours just having fun. I am including in the household type things cooking and baking.

    There is just something nice about a house that is simple, maybe old furniture but very clean. I have been in older people’s homes where they had older furnishing but the clean is what made it feel so nice.

    God bless and keep you!


Leave a Reply

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,233 hits

