Another Viewpoint

I am not the only one ranting about this… Nice job!

5 Responses to “Another Viewpoint”


  1. 1 chaidrinkingfool March 18, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    Wow. Yes, good video. Thank you for posting it.

    I liked the part where she talks about mini skirts and high heels, and about the naivety of people who don’t believe that there are some females (I don’t doubt that in some cases they are still of an age that we would refer to them as “girls”) who are forced to dress in that way. I don’t believe she intends to equate prostitution with being a practicing Muslim woman as she finishes that thought out. Despite the pause I had at that part of the video, she makes her point well.

    I grinned when she mentioned that she doesn’t want to offend anyone by ordering a BLT somewhere. 😉

    That clothing and appearance send a message is something I have been struggling with for some time, as I think, “Appearances shouldn’t matter!”. But of course if wishes were horses we all could ride.

    The point about interpretation and the interpreter not being separable is well taken.

    Oh! I did appreciate her demonstration of what a headcovering looks like for an observant Muslim woman. Although I do recognize the style, I used to work in a place where we had many Muslim customers, and I found that what was considered acceptable attire (including headcovering) varied widely from woman to woman.

  2. 2 Jenn March 29, 2010 at 9:05 am

    Oops. I didn’t mean to equate being a practicing Muslim with prostitution. I was trying to point out inconsistencies in common reasoning in Western cultures for why some styles of dress are appropriate (“liberating” even) while others are not appropriate (they’re “obviously” oppressive).

  3. 3 akhomeschoolfun March 30, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    Great video, thanks for sharing. First impressions can definitely differ depending upon style of headcoveringis worn. I’ve found this out first hand. I usually wear bandannas. They’re cheap, easy, and practical for me. Many of the women in my church also wear them so I am not a standout. However, when I went to Washington DC, I wore Mennonite style because I was afraid my bandannas too similar to those worn by gangs in big cities. That’s definitely NOT the impression I wanted to give.

    Stereotypes based on dress are everywhere. I too like how she mentioned the mini skirt and high heels. Most people aren’t uncomfortable around that (in fact it’s often encouraged), so why are they around headcoverings (Christian, Muslim and others)? Perhaps because one is religious and the other worldly?

    Before I started wearing mostly cape dresses, I’ve been mistaken for a Russian because of my bandannas, especially the flowered ones. This was a great opportunity to explain why I’m not Russian but wear a headcovering.

  4. 4 Abby May 11, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    One of my favorite Christian head covering articles, says this :

    “But the abuse of a Biblical practice by hypocrites does not negate or lessen its value and importance for sincere believers. Insincere believers, hypocrites, and even unbelievers sometimes get baptized or take Messiah’s Supper, yet very few Messianic Jews suggest that these Biblical practices be abandoned by sincere believers. Likewise, the wearing of the headcovering should not be abandoned simply because it is an outward symbolic act that may be done by hypocrites.” – Daniel Botkin

    What may be a sign of oppression to one culture, can very well be a sign of freedom to another (such as to Christian ladies who’ve taken it upon themselves to obey the Lord and cover). What other people think is beyond me. I’m over it.

  5. 5 Reza August 8, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    I don’t agree with her interpretation of history, amongst the Greeks, in regards to the Ottoman Empire because the Ottomans occupied many Orthodox Christian land for which it didn’t die off.

    But I agree with the rest of her approach.


Leave a Reply

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,238 hits

