The Saints are After You

When one is coming into Orthodoxy (and you could cite Catholic convert similarities), you tend to have run-ins with the Saints in amazing and otherwise cannot-be-naturally-explained ways. God wants us to know there are a whole crowd of people who are watching out for us, on our team. People we may not have chosen on our own but once they make themselves known, well, you are grateful for the Providence.

Yesterday was Forgiveness Sunday (I will make a video about it, without crying, I hope). My regular cross necklace chain broke after several years of hard wear. Drat! I opened up the dust-collecting jewelry box to choose another. On top on the heap was St. Brigid’s Cross in silver. The three other choices were tangled together. Alright, St. Brigid, we will go to church together!

The Orthodox readers might have already caught on to what transpired. I will explain for the non. In the Divine Liturgy there are two separate readings of the Saints of the Day names. The first reading I was distracted by Sts. Felicity and Perpetua. Really awesome women martyrs you should know. Then, at the second reading, I got it: St. Brigid of Kildare! AHA!

I did not read ahead on my calendar. It was a total surprise. Of all the obscure jewelry to put on that day, I chose her cross.

Both Jeff and I have had other Saints Are After You moments, even with the patron saint of our church. I like the keep-me-on-my-toes support system.

3 Responses to “The Saints are After You”


  1. 1 Jenny February 15, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    I love how you described this as the “keep-me-on-my-toes support system” – that pretty much sums it up! 🙂 It’s so encouraging to know others who’ve run this race are cheering us on — and praying for us…

  2. 2 thegeekywife February 15, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    What a wonderful story!

    (I had no idea about her cross, so the links were, once again, very helpful.)

    Holy and righteous St Brigid, pray for us!

  3. 3 jessica April 3, 2010 at 11:46 am

    Hi Anna,
    I have been following your blog, I too am Catholic and have a similar story. My husband and I just found out a few weeks ago that we are expecting our fourth child in November.
    This was quite a surprise for us so we were not expecting it and it made my husband a little bit scared to have another child to provide for (maybe the men can relate?).
    Well I suggested he ask St. Joseph to pray for him because he must also have had those feelings finding out his betrothed was pregnant and with the Son of God no less, what a huge responsibility!
    Well two days after we had this conversation, my husband and his co worker were taking a wall down in a house they were working in, and what did my husband find under the wall with some wheat pennies? Yep, a St. Joseph medal of St. Joseph with the infant Jesus in perfect condition, even if a little bit old!
    Like I told my husband, seems like St. Joseph is telling you he’s got your back. That was one of our run-ins with the Saints.
    Your story is also great! I don’t think any of these things can be counted as coincidence. 😀


Leave a Reply

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,045 hits

