My New Vocation

Bursting at the seams over here with my new vocational training pursuit. [I will not actually bust any seams, that would be unladylike.] What shall I be doing in about two years time??

A Clinical Herbalist.

I have decided to take up the study under Shonda Parker, a Christian woman who has written such books as, Naturally Healthy Woman, and Naturally Healthy Pregnancy, amongst others. She personally directs the study of women (and men, I guess?) into a very thorough knowledge and practice of herbal treatments. You can read about it at her site.

This is all out of the blue, Anna, how did you decide to do this? Health issues (of which I have a handful niggling and one or two genetic) have been an ongoing interest of mine for quite a while. I begged my parents to have “a bit of earth” for an herb patch when I was 11 years old. Both thumbs are green and my husband would argue, both big toes. Recently I have been experiencing some healing through herbs of my “feminine systems”, enough to be convinced and want to share with other ladies.

I chose Shonda (who returned my call personally! I was astounded) over the myriad of other herbal training programs because of the cost-effectiveness, thoroughness of her outlined program and for the Christian overtones of her work. While I dearly love the crunchy-tree-hugging-earth mamas, I cannot stomach a long-term indoctrination of Gaia worship. Shonda, I believe, offers a balance to the profession.

Herbalist training also fits in nicely with my penchant for being prepared for the (I believe) inevitable decline of petrochemical dependent society. I have many skills which would benefit an unplugged economy, like sewing and baking, but I wanted to expand and specialize my role into a Critical Knowledge set, and, thereby, make myself valuable to community well-being. Translated: People want me around because I know how to keep them healthy and fed.

Independent of the online curriculum, I will try to find a local wild-crafting person with which to apprentice/gallivant in the woods all around us. Wild plants have just as much medicinal value as cultivated – and immediately available.

Dear readers, as the time goes on, I won’t bog you down with the details of my study on this here venue. If you want to know, I can chat with you separately or you can wait for my professional website. 🙂

4 Responses to “My New Vocation”


  1. 1 Jenny February 10, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    Anna,
    This is an awesome idea! I’ve actually considered it myself, but I’m having some memory problems and other health issues that have made me put it off for awhile. In the meantime, I’m checking out a lot of books at the library, and I’m hoping to plant an herb garden this spring. I happen to agree with your views on our “petrochemical dependent society” and our family has been learning skills that might be useful some day. 🙂 I’m going to go check out Shonda’s website – just for curiosity’s sake… 🙂

    ~Jenny

  2. 2 Farmer's Daughter February 10, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    I’m happy you’re excited about your new endeavor! I felt the same way when I decided to go back to school for my MS, and then to go back to school again for another MS (a program from which I’m currently taking a little time off). Life long learners, we are.

  3. 3 Victoria H February 10, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    I have just recently found your blog and am quite taken with some of the things you say.

    It is wonderful that you have found a program that fits you! Good luck with all the things you will be learning. Alternative medicine is really a wonderful, laid-back field. I personally went to massage therapy school (don’t shoot but I AM one of those tree-hugging gaia worshipers).

    Hopefully we will hear some great things in future about what you are learning.

  4. 4 coleen February 12, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    I know you will be blessed with your new vocation! I’m back in school after about 10 years and if all goes well I will graduate with an associate’s degree this spring.


Leave a Reply

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,517 hits

