Long Hair Care

One of my “dream goals” when I was still your average Jennifer-American four years ago was to grow out my hair. All of my hair. I had bangs my entire life because of my large forehead. I did not like the maintenance factor of bangs. You have to blow-dry them, roll them, curl them, spritz them with petrochemicals. I figured that if my hair was of all the same (long) length, I could reduce my daily hair fuss.

I accomplished that dream somewhere shortly after my wedding in 2006. No more bangs! The big shiny forehead was liberated! I was still experimenting with coverings just on Sundays at that point.

Then, when I covered up every day in mid 2007, my hair care routine also changed. I quit washing daily and switched over every-other-day. That routine has pretty much stayed the same since except for a little change-up. Let me describe:

Day 1: Wash with regular shampoo. No conditioner for my baby-fine hair. Pull back in pony tail and braid. Twirl into bun and pin.

Day 2: Undo braid (which was undone from ponytail and slept on) and brush with boar bristle brush to work out the natural oils. Re-do hair into a bun.

This December I decided to try No-(sham)poo method, with baking soda and apple cider vinegar for every other wash day. Now my routine includes non-SLS (sodium laurel sulfate) shampoo on the days I “wash”. It is more expensive than regular shampoo, but since I only use it once or twice a week, I stretch it out a looooong time. I have reached the other “dream goal” of using no petroleum products on my head.

Last summer at one point (I cannot find the post) I was dithering over whether to get a trim/cut after 2 years of having no scissors touch the hair. Well, I did get about 3-4 inches taken off which did improve my morale and head/neck complaints. The length is now back to where it was (about waist level) and I am pondering another trim. The lady who did it was rather compassionate and did EXACTLY what I asked. I hope she still works at the same place.

One other site I want to share with you is Rapunzel’s Resource. The young lady guides you step by step in the process of creating stunning up-do’s, many of which are copied from historical costume drama movies. I need the excuse of a rainy day to try out a few of her styles.  Just because I cover it up outside the home doesn’t mean I can’t make it pretty while it is uncovered!

One extra foot note (and product review) is the type of hair pins I am now using. Prayer Coverings has Amish-made hair pins that really do the job for long hair buns. I chose the 3 inch straight version, which was a tad long, but very effective. I need only 4-5 pins to keep a bun together.

8 Responses to “Long Hair Care”


  1. 1 Kristie January 22, 2010 at 9:11 am

    I tried going “no-poo” but I am so sensitive to baking soda (I can have a bit in my bath, but not directly in contact with my skin, or else it burns). I have switched to using ACV to rinse my hair instead of conditioner (it works far better).

    I have to agree about the Amish hair pins. I have really thick hair, and these do the trick! And when they bend out too much I just get hubby’s pliers and squeeze them back in shape! 🙂

    Have you found a good nonSLS shampoo? I had tried the JASON brand but found I had to wash my hair twice or use a lot of it all at once to get my hair clean (when it would dry, it would look really greasy!lol)

    • 2 Anna January 22, 2010 at 10:15 am

      The bottle I am finishing up is Kiss My Face brand. It got the greasies out with one go. I bought another brand at CVS the other day; I hope it works just as well.

  2. 3 Farmer's Daughter January 22, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    I wash my hair probably 5 days a week. I only shampoo my scalp, and then condition my whole head. I like Burt’s Bees Grapefruit and Sugarbeet. I wash at night and air dry, then braid to sleep most of the time in winter, to control the static that my flannel sheets generate.

    I’ve always had very long hair, and since I stopped dying it (2 years now) it’s much healthier. I’ve never used a blowdryer, unless it’s winter and I’m heading out at night after I wash it.

  3. 4 Jennifer January 22, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    I workout almost every day. Is “no-poo” something you can do if your hair gets really sweaty every day? It seems like it might be better than shampooing it every day because the shampoo strips the oils away… Any thoughts?

    • 5 Kristie January 22, 2010 at 6:30 pm

      You could just do a rinse with plain water and/or ACV rinse (1 tbsp ACV to 1 cup of water). That should get the sweat out without using shampoo

  4. 6 Terri aka StrangeKnit January 23, 2010 at 6:54 am

    I have been no poo for about 1.5 years. I used BS as my wash my hair for a long time with apple sauce as a conditioner. ACV & WV both made my hair feel greasy. I recently combed out my dreads after 9 months. I used Dr Bronner’s tea tree oil bar soap. I am not sure which I method that I will use now that I combed them completely out. My hair is much thinner (combing out dreads is harsh) now so I have to see what works best:) I wash my hair about once a week.

    In between washes my roots can get a bit greasy so I use a touch of corn starch at my roots. Rub in like you would shampoo. I shake it out or rub roots with small towel. Just comb as usual. Learned that lesson from a quadriplegic when I did home care. I am sure many of our ancestors did similar things for hair care.

    I used the boar bristle and a wooden comb for a long time whenever I have brush-able hair. Now, I use my fingers only to comb through my hair. It worked well with thicker hair too.

    Thanks for sharing
    ~Terri

  5. 7 A Joyful Chaos January 27, 2010 at 9:43 am

    Thank-you for sharing this information. I am looking forward to exploring the links you shared. Especially Rapunzel’s Resource.

  6. 8 thegeekywife January 27, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Thanks for the update and the links.


Leave a Reply

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,045 hits

