Happy New Year Belated Edition

Just by the amount of gunk lining my bathroom sink, you can tell I have been too busy in the last three weeks to do anything of housekeeping or blogging excellence.  I will save you from photographic evidence thereof.

I have worked some at a local office (through a temp agency) where I have worked previously. They are nice folks and I like helping them out. Still, working puts a crimp on other things like laundry, cooking, and other essentials.

Dear husband made it through the holidays at the World’s Largest Retailer. His schedule has shifted back onto mostly days and will get more Sundays off. [YAY] He will even get a raise soon for sticking it out longer than 90 days.

My mother’s health is not so great. She has had bronchitis since Thanksgiving, combined with lung cancer makes for racking hacking day and night. The coughing has calmed some…but it has lead to the Drs. taking another x-ray which confirmed a new cancer spot on her other previously unaffected lung. Please continue your prayers.

We had a great first Nativity celebration at the Orthodox church. Standing for 6 hours out of 24 in church is a marathon of weight-bearing proportions. I felt like I accomplished something just being there and paying attention. 🙂 We also received the Catechumen’s exam (open book) from our priest to help us prepare for baptism. We’ve got a way to go in order to answer it. A young man was baptized last Sunday. He is going off to college so the priest wanted him to be set. I love baptisms! Intensely serious and beautiful, like a birth.

Ok, the day stretcheth forth before me…but before I get to scrubbing out slime from the bathroom sink…I’ll give you a taste as to what I want to write/video about this month:

  • Long hair – Do I have it?!? How do I care for it and do it up?
  • More catechumen ramblings on video.
  • Sewing and knitting projects.
  • Snoods!

Making my to-do list and checking it twice…

4 Responses to “Happy New Year Belated Edition”


  1. 1 Amber January 8, 2010 at 10:07 am

    *hands you medal* Wow. That is an accomplishment. Six hours straight?

    Did the young man getting baptized get to wear a wet suit or something? 🙂 Or did he get baptized indoors due to weather?

    Lung cancer is rough, to say the least. You’ll all be in my prayers.

    • 2 Anna January 9, 2010 at 12:43 pm

      not six hours straight…three in the morning and again 12 hours later, three at night. My tootsies and knees were hurting! But I felt proud of myself (in a humble sort of way) that I made it through a major festal service marathon.

      The young man in question was baptized in a new (though ingeniously built from recycled materials) tub in our narthex. Quite cool! This means…if we are ready…we can be baptized before May! 🙂

  2. 3 Lisa January 8, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Happy Nativity a day late. It is hard to get much accomplished around the holiday season, but it is nice to see you back at the blog. 🙂

    I shall gladly pray for your Mom. Her heath sounds quite precarious. Of course, I’ll be praying for the rest of you as well.


Leave a Reply

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,738 hits

