Encourging Post-it Notes

Had a terrific time with family this Thanksgiving – sans Jeff. Ah, well, he had a place to eat and friends to be around after he was done with work. [I feel a rant post coming on about how Christians should refrain from shopping except in extreme emergencies during the public holidays and Sundays. Would save lots of grief for OTHER Christians who would have to be there to indulge your penchant for impulse buying of computer games and gizmo hamsters…oops, I just said it. Bitter? A tiny bit.]

Back to the title of this post…

Over a year ago I came up with a bumper stick quote, which a blog reader made for me on Zazzle. Here it is:

Get the attention you deserve; Dress Modestly.

This past Sunday, a lady from my church, who works for a residential treatment house for abused/addicted women, shared that she uses that quote in teachable moments for the women. They like to write up encouraging quotes on post-it notes for themselves in their bunk cubbies. My friend said the quote is now up on the post-its at the shelter. πŸ˜€ My cockles are warm!

7 Responses to “Encourging Post-it Notes”


  1. 1 Naomi November 30, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    Interesting quote…I grew up wearing cape dresses, but the rationale was to NOT draw attention to oneself. This quote sounds either like modesty is about exhibitionism OR that women do not deserve attention. The second reading would be a bit disturbing as a suggested mantra for battered women who often battle profound feelings of worthlessness anyway. It would also then seem to imply the victim is to blame for the way she is treated, not the abuser. According to this logic, the women in Saudi Arabia should be totally abuse-free.

    Or maybe I’m missing something and you can enlighten me?

    • 2 ineptseamstress November 30, 2009 at 7:38 pm

      My take on this (I made the bumpersticker for her and one for me) is that we as Christian women (or just women or humans) deserve better. If someone notices me, I don’t want it because of my low-cut shirt or my mini-skirt or whatever. I want to be noticed for my brains, personality and my character.
      This has nothing to do with abuse or worthlessness in fact it is the opposite, by dressing modestly we can tell guys who are only interested in our bodies to go jump in a lake.
      Kaekae

      • 3 Anna December 1, 2009 at 7:49 am

        What Kae Kae said is what my lady-counselor friend described as how the women were interpreting the quote. They are aspiring to dignity and the quote helps them see that clothing is one way of displaying it to the world.

  2. 4 Kristie December 1, 2009 at 8:32 am

    I love that idea πŸ™‚ I have thought of using post-its like that (after reading a blog that did something similar) to stick in public places where women go, like bathroom stall doors and mirrors and such.

  3. 5 Sally December 4, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    I try not to shop on Sunday and on Christian holidays to support this idea. Nice point! I think there is something to be said for having at least one day a week where we are not consuming!

  4. 6 Margaret December 6, 2009 at 7:28 am

    I think Christians shouldn’t shop at all except in emergencies (like husband food and cat food) but I am a curmudgeon.

  5. 7 thegeekywife December 7, 2009 at 12:51 am

    Anna,
    Oh I despise shopping on Sundays and holidays! When I was a teen working @ a grocery store I would get the Sunday School Donut Crowd asking “Why aren’t you at church?” Uh…SOMEONE has to ring up your donut purchase, and today that someone is me! Same with the shoe store after college. I could tell when church was over because suddenly the mall would fill.

    I’m very bitter about all my years in retail. Through God’s grace I can let go of that.

    That said, yesterday was Sunday. AND I went to the mall. Sigh.


Leave a Reply

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,045 hits

