Empathy

Had some “Aha!” internet stumbling around today. The fruit of which is the following articles:

Aspies Empathize Too Much

and

Remarks on Autism and Catholicism

Follows up nicely on the Love and Vocation post I wrote a couple weeks ago.

 

2 Responses to “Empathy”


  1. 1 alana November 21, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    Good articles. It’s funny. I don’t think you come across as very aspie-ish. Course, I’m swimmin’ in an Aspie ocean around here and maybe I’m just used the water temperature. But thank you for being you. You give me hope that my kids will be just fine someday.

  2. 2 Liz November 22, 2009 at 3:37 am

    Alana, I know in my heart of hearts that your kids will be fine. And they are incredibly blessed to have a mommy like you. šŸ™‚

    These were some interesting articles, especially the first one. I was recently wondering if my mom and I both have Aspie tendencies and we do, according to some basic “symptoms” but I don’t want to self-diagnose. But that first article described me to the letter. I over-empathize with people but instead of withdrawing, which I do sometimes, I tend to get over-emotional too. I start bawling if I hear a passing story on the news of someone dying. If someone I don’t know is having a bad day, I get extremely distressed when I can’t help them.

    Sometimes I wish I could withdraw, it would certainly be easier! But I have an inability to withdraw, it seems. For the most part, I just have an inappropriate emotional response to little things like that. (I think it’s inappropriate, at least. Mostly because it’s bothersome, embarrassing and sometimes gets in the way of doing things at home or work.) But to be honest, it’s how I am and I just need to cope with it. Even if I got any sort of official diagnosis, is there really anything that could be done to help alleviate ‘symptoms’?


Leave a Reply

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,650 hits

