Love and Vocation

Working two weeks on two separate temporary administrative assignments has taught me a valuable lesson:

I need a vocation where I can love people unreservedly.

I will let you all into an Aspie thing or a weird-is-me-theory. This whole treating people as casual goods in modern society bothers me deeply. Like disposable sporks that touch my lips a few times and then pitched away to never rot. If I stop to think about each checkout girl or medical assistant as an immortal soul, I cry. And crying continuously in public is embarrassing. I buck up like normal people in urban climes and ignore the soul. Just give me my sandwich exactly how I want it, er, please.

I believe an underlying spiritual dimension of this neurological spectrum gift is seeing each human as the unique creation of God. Whether or not the Aspie in question is a God-fearer, they cannot but take people one at a time because of our inability to read emotions or social cues. Everyone interacts, reacts, and acts differently. I have to study these people so I know how to speak with them, how to serve them, how to not get taken advantage of.

A logical way to handle this overwhelming “gift” is to shut out the flood human society and be happy with our particular interests. I can rightly do that and no one would blame me. I can have a Get Out of Socialness Free card.

Or…I can choose to interact with people in such a way that I “feel” their soul, as a wise priest once said. To describe the rush of emotions which make me cry is like being a castaway seeing a rescue boat. You would naturally want to hug every last blessed barnacle encrusted sailor who came to your aid. You will want to talk with them, listen to them, hear them sing. This relishing of human society, from what I understand, is not common.

I believe I have found (or had, its a long story) the right vocation which allows me serve professionally and charitably. Just need some time to get into the “loop” with the right crowd and then embark on a life-long lesson in loving.

4 Responses to “Love and Vocation”


  1. 2 thegeekywife November 12, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    Very interesting. Thanks. Vocations is a topic that has been weighing heavily on my mind (probably because of all the negative reactions I get from choosing to be a full-time homemaker even though we do not have any children)

    Been praying for you and Jeff job-wise.

    Also, how is your catechumen-ness going? The Nativity Fast is about 2 weeks away for you Old Calendar folks. 🙂

    • 3 Sarah November 14, 2009 at 5:12 am

      Anna,

      There’s nothing unusual about this at all; Post Modern society’s proclivity concerning treating human beings as little more than disposable objects is simply wrong. I’ve just spent a semester studying Christian Theological Ethics in my B.theol course at uni where this has been passionately emphasized in each and every lecture & tutorial! You are right to be moved profoundly concerning your fellows…

      Imanuel Kant spent a lifetime championing this cause; indeed, his entire philosophy is centred around the fact that each and every one of us is an ‘end in itself’, and not merely a ‘means to an end’. Each human being matters.

      Get your hands on

      Freedom and Conscience
      by
      Dr. Robert Gascoin

      Though it is a text, everyone should read this – I know there are thousands of books out there, but this is special; for Gascoin always comes back to God and His creation – the Trinity and us, the Paschal Mystery that is at the heart of God’s offer of salvation and transformation of the human race!

      Though some of his ideas may be considered frightfully liberal, for the mostpart, the underlying thread of his work is sound – after all, each human being is created in the image and likeness of Christ, therefore, all of us are icons of Christ… Also, as Paul has so eloquently written, all of us have fallen short of the glory of God – together we have all ‘gone wrong’…

      thanks be to our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ!

      Keep on being profoundly moved – this harsh world needs more who are!

      Blessings,

      Sarah,
      Sydney,
      Australia.
      PS: I wonder if the saints down through the ages, orthadox, RCC, Anglican, the Desert Fathers and Mothers, the woman who becomes an Anchoress in the 21st century, the young man who entres a monastic order, the ‘Holy Fools’ of russia such as St. Xenia…if a shimmering ‘aspie’ thread has united them all to the God of the universe, thus equipping each man and woman, Abbess or Hermet, to be a truly vital and open vessel for God…Just a thought …


  1. 1 Empathy « Veiled Glory Trackback on November 21, 2009 at 12:04 pm

Leave a Reply

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,238 hits

