Masculine Fashion

I meet up with Miss Maggie nearly every Tuesday at a local coffee shop. This establishment is the study/social place for the local liberal arts college. We see our share of scruffy, flip-flop style young adults hovering over laptops and twice-as-thick textbooks. Occasionally I get a people watcher’s treat of a well-dressed student or professor. One particular male student seems to have the 1940’s look down pat: well trimmed and combed hair, canvas ruck-sack, sturdy brown oxfords, collared shirts, and a blue stripped cover-all which is just oh so manly. He stands out among the fluffy-head-chuck-wearing-skinny jeaned, uh, boys.

I sigh here, dear readers, when your next thought, as well as mine, might be: he must be gay. HOW on earth did we get to the place where one must assume good clothing and grooming practices exclude the secure heterosexual? Its like men are not expected to care a modicum beyond whether they have a polo shirt and khakis that don’t stink (and neither are women, but that is a separate rant.)

[Insert thought here: My husband dresses well and to the occasion. I am in charge of his haircuts, so if he looks scraggy, its my duty to fix it.]

On my blog reader feed, I have the Aesthetic Traditionalist, who celebrates Masculine Fashion, both current and past. Another blog I like to take a look-see at every once and a while is Advanced Style. Men who know how to dress themselves! Politely and cleanly!

10 Responses to “Masculine Fashion”


  1. 1 Emily September 24, 2009 at 7:37 am

    Coverall = overalls? or do you mean something like a one-piece jumpsuit? *Confused*.

  2. 3 Marigold September 24, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    *Siiiigh* I love it when men dress properly. There is nothing better than a crisp shirt and a nice pair of slacks on a man, topped off with a nice jacket and hat. Hats are another thing! Why oh why did wearing a hat in daily life fall out of favour? If a man wants to win my heart entirely, he has to wear a waistcoat too. My absolute favourite, drooliest period of men’s clothing is the 1920s, as exemplified in the novel, film and TV series ‘Brideshead Revisited’.

    (Btw, when I saw the title of this post, I did think it was going to be about women’s fashion. Lol)

    xx

  3. 5 Brooke H. September 24, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    Sad, but true. And yet girls flock to them. I just don’t get it.

  4. 6 J in VA September 24, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    A rant I have about men’s fashion: watch couples when they are out and about. The man wil have on big baggy clothes, often trying to fall off his body. What does the female along side have on? the tightest, skimpiest outfit you’ll likely ever see.

    I often wonder: does this man want everyone to think “Boy, what a catch he got?” Why would he want HIS girl to show everything she has to everyone else on the street??

    Sadly, anymore I think you are right, guys know that other guys are all about looks. A well dressed man is likely either looking for another man or, on rare occasions, a religious man who believes in wearing clothing that is the proper size and is modest and appropriate.

  5. 7 Renee September 28, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    This was an interesting post – and yes – I thought it was going to be about women’s clothing too. The post looked interesting because I’d started a blog about modest dress. (I’ve since thus switched my blog up a bit to expand the subject material – it’s now called Artizen’s Odyssey Home; same blog address – but any how)

    I don’t know – maybe it’s me – but when I see nicely dressed men; I don’t automatically think they are gay. (Unless they are wearing something like a hot pink shirt and are “acting gay”. LOL – how ever it is you may interpret that.)

    When I was a teenager and I used to ride the bus up into the city; I liked to see the inner-city people dressed up nicely. The men in suits teneded to be inner city church leaders who were “out on their missions” after work (usually the local Y or Boy’s & Girl’s club). I think I liked to see them because they were usually rather up-beat and seemed to have some hope in their lives; even in the dismal city life of gangs and violence that was all around them. They were a light in an often very dark and dispondent world.

    Interesting as to how you dress can say a lot.
    But anyways:

    As much as some of us may like to see people dressed nicely (not just men) we have to face the fact that “dressing up” just is not “in”. As far as the man you’d made referrence to – I find people who adopt period style dress of any era rather intriguing. I think that’s probalby because I like history and usually people who do that are “history buffs” themselves. They generally make very interesting conversation when approached.

  6. 9 Oops September 29, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    How about we reserve judgment on well dressed men. Or men in flip flops and a t shirt. Or anyone. News: well-dressed does not mean gay.

  7. 10 Emily October 7, 2009 at 6:52 am

    @Oops, I was thinking the same. My significant other is a well-dressed, modern-looking, straight man. He typically wears dark jeans or khakis + short sleeved undershirt + dress shirt + nice shoes, and does his hair. No skinny jeans or chucks, ever.


Leave a Reply

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 415,755 hits

