New Video Series

I will get better at speaking, I promise. 🙂

15 Responses to “New Video Series”


  1. 1 Sanna August 28, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    A lovely, thoughtful video. I identify with what you said about the grace of having to ‘start over’ and be a child again, and also about not wanting to rush ahead of yourself.

    This coming Sunday I will be 3/4 of the way through catechesis. It’s all incredibly tiring and wonderful 🙂

    Love,
    Sanna.

  2. 2 Amber August 28, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    Ah, I’m going to enjoy this new series, I think. 🙂

    If you don’t mind my asking, what is it that decided you on Orthodoxy? I ask because you say you ‘don’t know much, practically’, so I’m just curious.

    • 3 Anna August 28, 2009 at 4:56 pm

      When I say I “don’t know” much…its partly an attitude of humility. Like a snowflake falling towards a glacier. I am so very small in the face of the grandness of the kingdom of God.

      Knowledge-wise, I guess I am fair to middling of an average catechumen. It is one thing to read about the Church and quite another to be immersed in the Liturgy and prayers. Like going from two dimensions into three, paper to the real deal.

      I have studied Catholicism, every major branch of Protestantism, and other religions. What I know of Orthodoxy is enough to put it in high contrast to every other “path”. I will make more vids describing our thought journey.

  3. 4 alana August 28, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    Good words. Nice video. Love the outfit.

    • 5 Anna August 29, 2009 at 6:52 am

      Thanks, Alana! The outfit is one of my favs, too. [Wearing dark denim skirt along with the plaid blouse and snood/lightweight scarf combo.]

  4. 6 Amber August 31, 2009 at 8:03 am

    Anna,

    I didn’t mean to come off as though I thought you hadn’t studied, which I think it might have, a bit, sorry. 🙂

    You did say that there was a practical component to ‘not knowing a lot’ as well as a spiritual/philosophical one – which I’m taking to be along the lines of a ‘the wise man knows enough to know what he doesn’t know’ sort of thing.

    I’m just always curious to know what it is that *decides* people, that final straw, you know? Yes, I am one of those people who likes to read conversion stories…

    But I’m going to practice my patience and wait. 🙂

  5. 7 alana August 31, 2009 at 9:58 am

    I think that ultimately “right worship” (which is what Orthodoxy is) is all about knowing God. And the more we know God, the more we realize that we know nothing. The awe and the mystery just deepens as the journey continues, until someday we find ourselves safe and prostrate on our faces before His very throne in heaven.

  6. 8 geekywife August 31, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    I laughed at the “everyone else sucks” comment, as I felt the same way until I finally started to grow up at around age, well, now. One of my favorite verses in my favorite hymn, The Great Doxology, is “Blessed art thou, O Lord, teach me Thy statutes.” I hope that verse encourages you as it did me. 🙂
    —Janelle

  7. 9 Ina August 31, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    You are home now.

    God bless you. Is easy to be ortodox. You do everythynk with God. Sorry for my english. I’m happy for you!

  8. 10 g September 17, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    Hi. Thanks for being so open and honest. Coming into the Church is a sometimes hard thing to do. It is very easy to look longingly back to Egypt, but it is never worth it. You will be in my prayers. A good thing to do is to read the variable hymns for the vespers and matins services. They are beautiful and contain all the theology a person could ever need. May God bless you and your husband!

  9. 11 Ina September 20, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    Something verry nice. A priest from my country:

    and

    I hope is good for all of as.

    God bless you

  10. 12 Oops September 29, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Orthodoxy is a huge paradigm shift, believe me! My conversion has been slow – 2 years – but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    It’s a rewarding, but sometimes painful because there will be a lot of inner-reflection, endeavor!

    God bless and keep you in this journey

  11. 13 Jenny September 29, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    Anna,
    I haven’t been by your blog in awhile – and I’m not sure if I’ve ever commented before, but I had to tell you that my family began the catechumen process on the 1st of August – and I was excited to here you’re on a similar journey. I totally understand what you meant by saying you “don’t know” – it’s the first time I’ve felt like there’s “so much to learn” since my original church experience as a young baptist teen. I married a baptist pastor, and we ended up on quite the spiritual journey together – after 12 years of service as baptists we ended up spending five years in the Catholic Church on our search for the “beginning” if that makes any sense. We finally feel “at home” in the Orthodox Church though we have so much to learn!

    In Christ,
    ~Jenny

  12. 14 Ruth Erickson November 9, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    Hi Anna,

    I am a Protestant Chrisitan this questioning the role of Tradition in Christianity and if the reformers got rid of to much when they reformed the church. What made you choose Eastern Orthodoxy over Roman Catholicism? I am think about the Catholic Church myself. God Bless you in your studies of the church.


  1. 1 Waiting on God « Walking the Pathless Land Trackback on June 28, 2011 at 9:59 pm

Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,045 hits

