On Vacation

We are off to Gettysburg, Pennsylvania tomorrow! I have wanted to visit since I ever read a history book.

In my dreamy dreams, the ideal visit to Gettysburg would be envisioned as thus:

Me, wearing a full deep mourning outfit, ala 1863. Jet earrings and bonnet with veil.

Brother, wearing kilt and playing bagpipes.

Weather, cool & misty in mid-autumn.

Lay a wreath at a few monuments. Make other people get *chills*. Priceless.

So that won’t happen…but I can still dream the dream while seeing the actual place.

Here are a couple links for the frilly girly girl in all of us:

Living at home – she has a series of posts up now about her dresses.

The Pleasant Times – Dittoes.

I will post plenteous pics this weekend. Hugs!

2 Responses to “On Vacation”


  1. 1 Lisa August 11, 2009 at 11:09 am

    Have a wonderful trip! I went to college in Gettysburg, and Dad and I are huge Civil War buffs, so that is my battlefield. If you get chance, try to get up to Little Round Top first thing in the morning. Before the crowds, there is just a certain atmosphere about the place. Amazing. I’ll look forward to hearing about your trip. Some of Gettysburg is so touristy, but some of the town and the battlefields are great.

  2. 2 samantharoyce August 11, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    I went to Gettysburg with my Girl Scout troop about 8 years ago. Lovely place. It’s so full of history.


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,238 hits

