Opportunality

…or, in less fancy words, laziness.

Living in this suburban situation, I have become lax in my modesty and headcovering standards. I lived in an urban apartment in Oklahoma. When I walked out my doorway, I was out there for many eyes to see. So, appropriately, I did not leave home without a covering without a darn good reason, like an incoming potential tornado.

Nowadays, I have the unofficial duty of fetching the newspaper in the morning off the end of the driveway. I guess there are fewer pairs of eyes who could possibly see me in my flannel jammie pants, t-shirt and bed hair than my previous abode. Freaky sight, I know.

The problem is I send my neighbors a mixed message by looking like your average suburbanite woman at 7 am and then walk out two hours later in full hijab. So…problem solve….

The other laziness I have fallen into is wearing bandanas instead of more dignified scarves. Eehh…its summer, right? Nnnnooooo. My bun sticks out. Laxity.

This post was as much expose (har har har) as a pep talk to myself. Thanks for listening.

7 Responses to “Opportunality”


  1. 1 Stacy August 5, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    I can identify. I used to cover almost full-time until I moved back home with my parents while he was deployed. I didn’t bother a lot of the time when I was just in the neighborhood or visiting friends. Now I live in a city again, but I’m having trouble going back to what used to be second nature earlier.

  2. 2 Noora August 5, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    It is difficult when moving to a different environment. Don’t give up! You’re an inspiration.

  3. 3 Amber August 6, 2009 at 7:06 am

    I can relate, a little.

    I live, almost litterally, in the middle of nowhere. You can see my neighbors, but you have to squint.

    Usually my dad gets the paper in the morning, but they were out of town last month for a week and some change. The first day, I half-awake wandered down to the end of the drive for the paper in my pjs (long nightgown), hair sticking up all over.

    And a neighbor rode by on his bike. Startled us both, I think. 🙂

    Next day, I used my dark blue abaya for a robe and threw on a big kerchief. Of course I saw no one else that early the whole rest of the time. 🙂

    • 4 Anna August 6, 2009 at 10:16 am

      Lesson is to be prepared. 🙂 Many of my neighbors are jogging, walking dogs, or getting in their cars for work around about the time I shuffle out for the newspaper.

  4. 5 akhomeschoolfun August 7, 2009 at 12:26 am

    We live half a mile from our newspaper box so walking down clad in nightgown and robe isn’t really an option. However, I have sometimes forgotten shoes and wore my slippers.

  5. 6 Hajar Zamzam Ismail August 8, 2009 at 1:35 am

    Sometimes I throw on the top half of my two-piece prayer outfit when I just want to get the mail or walk to the parking lot. It looks like the outer piece of an Amira hijab, only it comes down to mid-thigh length, so if I am wearing short sleeves, or no sleeves, in the house, it not only covers my hair, it also covers my arms and my butt.

    Like this, only a different color:

    http://www.islamicboutique.com/two_pieces_prayer_dress_055.asp

  6. 7 Raine August 10, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    I keep a denim dress that’s easy to pull over and pintucked so the bodice hides more than a flat dress, as well as a scarf, a straw sun-hat, and some slip-on shoes, near my door [we have a table with several cubbyholes there & I keep them in it]. It makes it easy for me to have something to pull on when I just have to run outside to check the mail or take the dog out, or even if there’s an unexpected knock at the door.


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,233 hits

