Housewife Diaries

Second day into my “retirement” and I am realizing how much endurance one needs for housewifery! Granted, I had a cold over Sunday and Monday (much improved now, thank you) which slowed me down. I hardly packed…maybe 4 boxes? Right now I am focusing on the basics: food, dishes, laundry, cleaning, cat. Piece of cake, right?

For starters, I do not have a dishwashing machine at my current locale. Nor do I have in-unit laundry. So each knife, fork, plate, and spoon must be sudsed  and rinsed by yours truly. This morning I toted two loads down to the apartment laundromat, which is a fair distance, up and down a flight of steps.

I also have the car today (which involves driving Jeff to and from work, less than 10 minutes each way) in hopes of fetching boxes from a local business. The manager sounded less than optimistic on the phone just now about having a useable amount this afternoon. She took down my number and said she might get more shipments later this week. Sigh. Meanwhile, Jeff’s boss is putting out an SOS email for paper boxes from all departments. You know, boxes which hold reams of computer paper make the BEST packaging for books and other small household items. The books are nearly packed, but I still need more!

I am also juggling a few Freecycle items, waiting for pick ups. Hint to the wise: if you want an item, get it at the time you promised. Don’t ask for something you cannot fetch. I have had several people flake out on me for really nice stuff. Their loss.

OOOhHHH, I almost forgot. Guess who will be my new IRL friend???

Miss Maggie!!!

She is as excited as I am to have a headcovering friend within easy driving distance. [You should have heard her squee with delight when she heard who was on the line.] We chatted on the phone yesterday for a good 20 minutes. What a relief it will be to have a nice lady friend waiting for your arrival. 🙂

Alright, 15 minutes of relax time is over…

I have two incredibly ugly hot spots I need to clean up and prep for packing.

4 Responses to “Housewife Diaries”


  1. 1 Kristen May 20, 2009 at 5:01 am

    Glad you found someone who will be in your area when you move.

    Blessings and prayers for a smooth move

  2. 2 Hajar Zamzam Ismail May 20, 2009 at 10:36 am

    When you become a housewife you start asking yourself how you ever did it when you were working. 🙂

  3. 4 Angela May 21, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    it can certainly be an adjustment! Best of luck! You’ll do great!


Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,238 hits

