My Mom and Cancer

This is a little update for new readers (and those who have been following for a while) on my mother’s health.

She was diagnosed with lung cancer (non-smoking related) in November, 2004. It is the type of cancer which is increasingly being found in otherwise healthy, non-smoking women in middle age. I strongly encourage those in that bracket to follow up with their doctor if they develop a persistent cough or have been treated for recurrent pneumonia. A simple blood test and a chest x-ray will confirm if your cancer markers are high. Mom was mistreated as having pneumonia for almost a year before the diagnosis. By then, it was past the stage where surgery might have stopped the spread to her lymph nodes. You can see why I put out a health advisory.

Her treatments have included several rounds (lost count) of chemotherapy, one round of radiation which almost killed her, and a couple experimental treatments. They stopped her latest round of chemo last month because her blood markers were coming up (bad) and she was developing a severe rash (please pray for that last one, my dad says it is blistered like a second degree burn.) The next course of action they will take is to join another clinical trial of an oral medication which is supposed to boost her immune system. The downside of clinical trials is one third to one half of participating patients receive a placebo. When you’ve tried everything else…well…its worth the odds.

God’s timing in having us move home is perfect (of course!). Dad can’t really cook; they’ve been living on take out, frozen foods, and the generosity of church folk. I told him last night I was willing to take over the kitchen (as much as dear queen mother will desire) duties. Jeff and he will hash out yard and house maintainence. I am so thankful I can be there for my parents!

9 Responses to “My Mom and Cancer”


  1. 1 Amber May 18, 2009 at 10:18 am

    Anna,

    I’m very sorry to hear about your mother, and I pray that this next treatment works. It’s very fortuitous that you’ve been able to move home to help them now. Turf wars over kitchen duty/yard work and everything. šŸ™‚

  2. 2 Stacy May 18, 2009 at 11:12 am

    It’s so great that you can be there for your parents when they need you. I hope that you can get her healthier by cooking good food for her and by just being there. I would also recommend getting a book about Cancer by Ty Bollinger. You can get it on Amazon. There is a lot of information there about nutritional therapies.

  3. 3 alana May 18, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    OH, what a wonderful ministry!

    • 4 Anna May 18, 2009 at 2:39 pm

      Yes, Alana, much opportunity for humility and service! I just got off the phone with a lady who contacted me for Freecycle stuff. We chatted as to why I was moving. She said she had done the same thing to be with her mother for the last two years…then repined that her daughter refused to help her in a time of need. How sad.

  4. 5 susanne430 May 18, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    I hope your mom will be OK. Has she looked into something like the Hallelujah Diet? It’s worth checking out! http://www.hacres.com It’s based in Shelby, NC.

  5. 6 Anna May 18, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Thank you, ladies for the nutritional advice. However, my mother and food is the subject of a long discussion I’d rather not share in public. Let’s just say, I will do my best to serve her the best.

    ~A

  6. 7 carold114 May 18, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    So sorry to read about your mom. Will definitely pray for her and the whole family.

  7. 8 Kristy May 19, 2009 at 3:06 am

    I think it is wonderful of you to honor your parents like that & ever more of a blessing to have such a great husband that is willing to help too.

  8. 9 Margi May 20, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    I will be praying for your mother – and you. My father died of lung cancer last year and he had been treated for chest infections and allergies before they discovered the tumour. I hope with all my heart your mother gets the right treatment now and that it all goes as well as it possibly can.


Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,045 hits

