Q and A with Veiled Glory Part 3

To Swim or NOT to Swim that is the question here.

The last time I wore a swimsuit (albeit, a skirted-bottom tankini, very “old lady” in modern sensibilities) was for our honeymoon three years ago. I don’t even fit into it any longer…so by default, I do not swim in public. 🙂

Came across this quote from Spark People the other day:

Swimsuit season is almost here, and while I love summer, I downright DREAD the skimpy clothes that come with it. I can handle sleeveless shirts. I’ll even sport shorts on occasion. But I am too uncomfortable with my own body to wear a bathing suit in public. Call me prudish, but we don’t parade around in our underwear in front of strangers, so why do we wear bathing suits that leave about as much to the imagination as a bra and panties? Doesn’t anyone besides me think that’s a bit odd?

This is from a common sense secular writer!

Now, theoretically, if I were to desire to swim (in the off chance we should venture towards a beach), I would choose a mix-and-match combo of a sun shirt, and shorts over leggings. Oh, I just found this swimwear outfitter, very cute and modest stuff!

I will save the conundrum of mixed swimming for a later post.

7 Responses to “Q and A with Veiled Glory Part 3”


  1. 1 Kristen May 7, 2009 at 11:42 am

    What are your thoughts on the swim suits like the burkini and the bodykini? I did a post about them
    http://kristenmomof3.xanga.com/699928440/swimming-in-the-summer/

    If I was going to go swimming I would probably get one of them. My favorite being the black and white one. But I haven’t been swimming in years because I do not like to see the nudity of the other people. And I don’t want my children to see that either.

    They have never been swimming. When people hear that they get mad at me sometimes and say all children should know how to swim. I understand that their thoughts.

    Blessings

    • 2 Anna May 7, 2009 at 12:18 pm

      I think some of those bodykini styles are rather nice, but…for me….not so much. I’d prefer a mix and match of modest top with bottoms and then put on a broad brimmed hat over a bandanna.

      Good for you, Kristen, on keeping your children out of public bathing places. I was forced to learn swimming as a child and never mastered it.

  2. 3 Hajar Zamzam Ismail May 7, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    Have you seen a burqini before?

    http://www.ahiida.com/index.php?a=results&subcat=65

    You can find a few more different ones if you google for them. There are actually non-Muslims who are wearing these now, for different reasons, protection from the sun because of skin cancer, extra modesty etc.

    • 4 Kristen May 7, 2009 at 3:23 pm

      I think they are really great. My main thing would be I do not want to expose my children to the nakedness of the other people. If I could go to a place where everyone was dressed in stuff like that. That would be great.

  3. 5 J in VA May 7, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    I have a suit from a company called swim modest–it is a one piece with leggings and short sleeves with a sewn-on sarong over top. I don’t wear it often but I have it.

    My 9yo dd wears a surf suit–a sort of one piece jumpsuit that zips up the front. She has worn these for several years and loves them because you don’t have to put on much sunscreen and it’s quick to get in and out of.

    I take her to a local very uncrowded public pool. She is very unconcerned with what others are wearing and could care less whether what she is wearing looks anything like anyone else.

  4. 6 karen May 7, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    My swimsuit comes from here. http://www.modest-swimwear.net/
    I love it.
    I even have worn it to ride my bike.
    You can also get patterns to sew them.
    The only thing I would really change is I would like a mock turtle neck, so the back of my neck doesn’t get sunburned.
    I am so thankful for it. I used to try to make do the one time a year I am swimming with non-family members-shorts and a tank and then keep my legs under water when in it. Except – some one took a picture of me on a jetski – and there are my white legs exposed for all to see. This picture shows up all over the place – I even saw it on a local cable access TV show (a friend was a guest – and a slideshow of our group was in the background).
    Never Again will a picture like that be taken of me.
    Besides – I got to swim for the 1st time in a public pool – never had before. I am love my bathing suit.

  5. 7 Amber May 8, 2009 at 6:20 am

    If I’m going to be in public I wear a *really* oversized shirt and clam diggers. When I’m alone, I figure a regular swimsuit is okay, though I do wear the ‘old lady’ style you mentioned. 🙂

    I’d probably use one of those burquini things, but they’re insanely expensive.


Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,931 hits

