Q and A with Veiled Glory Part One

The first round of questions is from Roxana:

What are the pros and cons of the covering and dresses? Do you run into situations where either or both are impractical or uncomfortable? Do you have variants based on season (Oklahoma gets very hot, as I’m sure you know)? What would you say to anyone worrying about these issues when it comes to the idea of transitioning?

Pros of Covering and Dresses, IMHO:

  • Forces me to “care” about my appearance, whether my clothing is ironed, clean, and matching. As an Aspie, this is a big deal. Not that before covering & modesty, I didn’t care two pins about my appearance. I just gave little consideration on how others perceived me. Now that I stick out of the crowd, I like to give a good representation.
  • Skirts allow air flow around one’s legs in summer, and with adequate layering in the winter, are warmer than pants.
  • I look like a “lady”. The doors open before me; Ma’ams are spoken with greater frequency. The increased public respect is noticeable.
  • My husband likes what I wear. If he is happy, then I am happy, generally speaking.
  • Fitting skirts and dresses is infinitely easier than jeans.
  • Coverings: Hair is easier to do up when it is long. Fashion potentials are greater. No sunburn on scalp. Air of mystery.

Cons of Wearing Dresses and Coverings:

  • The windy-ness of Oklahoma has been a challenge. If I know the weather will be knock-me-flat gusty, I go for narrower skirts and tights. The tichel/hijab look is also wind-friendly.
  • Dirt. If you work in it, I could see having to adjust your skirt expectations.
  • Heat: this hasn’t been much of a difficulty for me (even near the Texas border) as I wear linen and cotton in layers during the summers. [And having spent several years in Arizona, I am heat tolerant.] But I could see other styles being stultifying. Your body does adjust to how covered you are. Just think of the Bedouin who wear cotton/wool layers against the desert.
  • Other considerations….hmmm….I can’t really think of any. If the dear readers have other Pros/Cons they can add them to the comments.
7 Responses to “Q and A with Veiled Glory Part One”


  1. 1 Hajar Zamzam Ismail May 5, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    I have worn dresses in the dirt (gardening) – you just get used to it. I wore old ones while working, and changed into something better when I got done with the work. It really depends on the level of commitment one has to the practice. I agree that your body adjusts to the clothing you choose to dress in, regardless of the temperature of the weather. I also tend to select cottons and linens and light, breathable fabrics to wear in the summer. Of course I’m still hot in the summer, but so is everyone else. 🙂

    I enjoy reading about your spiritual journey.

  2. 2 J in VA May 5, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    I transitioned into all skirts almost by accident one summer. I realized in hot VA with no AC that skirts/dresses were MUCH cooler and in the process felt convicted to adopt that dresscode permenantly.

    I know ladies who don’t wear anything but long sleeves. Their comment to me about it is that “it’s summer, it’s hot, everyone is hot” I’m not convicted to forego short sleeves but they do make a good point.

    I garden, mow and everything else in my skirt. I have found that split slips help prevent the legs from rubbing in hot weather and thin insulated legwear in winter helps with cold.

  3. 3 amy May 6, 2009 at 3:04 am

    I wear a lot of skirts and have a big thin cotton pinafore dress that I put over the top of anything else I am wearing if I am doing gardening of anything else grubby. It is a dark grey so it fantastic for this.

  4. 4 Amber May 6, 2009 at 10:51 am

    Anything that can be done in pants can be done in a skirt. Sometimes it just requires a little more care. Or so I’ve been told.

    As a personal ‘pro’ for skirts: I find it easier to kneel and rise in a skirt than in pants. It’s just more comfortable and easier, in my mind.

  5. 5 Renee (Ms. Modest Fashion Cents) May 8, 2009 at 11:15 am

    I like skirts too and I wear them a lot in the summer time.

    Cons: Try riding a recumbent in a skirt! This is one aspect of my summer attire I’ve yet to figure out. In the fall and spring; I wear “leggigs” (the “underware” that goes under snow pants) under a knee length bicyling skirt. In the summer time though, that’s just too hot. I’d like to find 3/4 or full length pants made from cycling shirt material. I need something the air goes through! – So, LOL – the quest continues!

  6. 6 akhomeschoolfun May 11, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    I wear skirts and dresses both summer and winter in Alaska. It is easier to layer with skirts. I wear sweats or insulated pants under them in the winter. The skirts create a bit of breeze to keep me cool in summer. Plus no more sun burnt legs. For gardening or other messy chores, I just wear older ones and change when going to town. I’m considering making some full aprons to help keep my dresses clean. I haven’t felt improperly dressed since I stopped wearing pants. I even recently went on a month long cruise and didn’t bring any pants or shorts just dresses and skirts.

  7. 7 mirancs8 May 15, 2009 at 12:12 am

    I actually covered this issue not to long ago on my blog. There are times that it just doesn’t make sense for me to wear a skirt. Riding a motorcycle, gardening in Arizona (if your skirt gets caught and you fall… ouch!), and riding horses. These are things that I do and love doing. These are times that you can cause not only injury to yourself but to those around you if you wear a skirt.


Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,738 hits

