Ditch the Doily

My latest thoughts….

10 Responses to “Ditch the Doily”


  1. 1 Kristen April 20, 2009 at 8:20 am

    amen.

    I wear what I do to keep all my hair covered. It is a blessing to be able to hear from another believer the same

    Blessings and Shalom

  2. 2 Sanna April 20, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    I like this video, Anna – happen to agree 🙂
    Thanks for posting!
    x

  3. 3 LisaM April 20, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Your closing line, “Keep your… “. I like it! Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this.

  4. 4 Stacy aka Fahiima April 20, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    I agree about size mattering of you do decide to wear a covering. I still don’t wear one full-time, but when ever I do for prayer and services I go for more of a hijab-type look. Thanks for sharing!

  5. 5 Megan April 20, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    I agree. A token gesture at covering my head doesn’t seem like enough to me anymore. It’s not my intention to criticise the ladies who wear small coverings, it’s just my choice.
    It is important to keep those buns covered 😀

  6. 6 Amber April 21, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    I was horrified, one day, to have it pointed out that my ponytail was sticking out under the edge of my tiechel. I’d been wearing them triangle-style, tied under or around themselves, and it wasn’t a problem because my hair was so short. But then it grew, and I didn’t realize how long it had gotten. So now, I make doubly sure that my buns covered. 🙂

    I cover my hair completely when I leave the house, but at home I still hear cotton kerchief style coverings, unless I’m praying. But it’s gotten to the point I’m thinking about switching to snoods at home, because tucking my hair up into a bun under the kerchief isn’t quite cutting it anymore. I’ve started to feel as though I’m following the letter, and not the intent.

    I like what you say about knowing when we’re ready to cover more comprehensively, like you do. It’s been a process, even for the short time I’ve been covering, and while I’d love to be able to cover as completely as you do, in that style, I can’t bring myself to go out of the house, so I know I’m not ready.

  7. 7 love4holiness April 23, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    I happen to agree that size matters (and is completely an individual thing as the Scripture would state exact size/shape if it were mandatory to adhere to such) but not that “feeling it” on my head matters… I don’t think it’s God’s will for us to feel something cumbersome, hot, or have a feeling of literal weight or on our head. Nothing in Scripture that I’ve found points to this. In addition, something too “weighty” gives me headaches. So while I agree with the thought behind your post, I don’t agree that the “feeling” of the literal cloth on our heads matters as I often can’t “feel” mine at all and my hair might be COMPLETELY covered! =)

  8. 8 Hajar Zamzam Ismail April 28, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    I love you for your faith, and for putting it into practice. I found you on youtube yesterday. ;P

  9. 9 Noelle April 28, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    Hi, I stumbled upon your blog and find it very interesting. I also cover for religious purposes. Does anyone ever think you’re Muslim?

  10. 10 Bethany April 29, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    I really appreciate how you expressed this, Anna. Personally, I have never yet felt drawn to headcovering (though, I certainly am very big on modesty–in dress and in spirit). But, I loved how you talked about your headcovering as being a “journey” and encouraging other women that they would know when the time was right to “move on” to more extensive coverage. That is how I have felt with my own journey, as I moved first to modesty, then to more feminine clothing, and finally to the wearing of long skirts and dresses full time. It truly is a journey, and God changes your heart in His own time.
    ~Bethany


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,136 hits

