Checklists

Planning a cross-country move is stressful. With our venture to Virginia in less than 8 weeks, I am starting to go into “hyper-beaver” mode. My mental list of to-do’s is getting longer by the hour. The problem is, I hardly ever write down and organize; I just worry! Yesterday Jeff and I came across a simple solution to my angst: spreadsheet based checklists.

Jeff loves a checklist. I could ask him to do nearly anything as long as I break it down into steps with a neat little box to tick off. For instance, we have a spare vehicle which has been sitting unused for a length of time. We agreed to dispose of the auto before we moved. A relative conveniently needs a vehicle this week and agreed to pay for all the expenses of getting it operational again. Our eyes glazed over at the enormity of the big-picture task.

“Would you like a check list, my dear?”

“YES, please!” was Jeff’s reply.

I designed and printed off one on blue cardstock in less than 5 minutes. I trimmed it down to fit his coat pocket. He was thrilled! This morning he had the first two tasks planned, appropriate materials gathered, and a smile on his face.

I saved the spreadsheet for future checklists.

In case you have this problem of being overwhelmed, this site is pretty cute. Or try Everyday Systems for added encouragement and long-term planning.

1 Response to “Checklists”


  1. 1 Kristen April 6, 2009 at 8:04 am

    I love lists. They are so helpful and wonderful. I make lists for almost everything.


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,931 hits

