The Power of Testimony

Two Sundays ago, Jeff and I were asked up on stage along with two other couples to testify about our respective courtships. Would you believe there were three couples in one medium-ish sized Baptist church who did not kiss until their wedding days? The pastor was  pleased he could have a panel discussion on the subject.

[I should clarify here that we waited until our wedding day to kiss….the wickedness mentioned below was all before we had met.]

The first couple had done things “traditionally”, where the girl had not dated anyone else and it was her first kiss at the altar. The second couple was older (in their 30’s) when they married and had had lots of relationship experiences before then, so the committement to purity was a new thing. Then there was us….

Judging from the reactions we received afterwards, we gave our co-religionists quite the shock. We look so sweet and innocent now, but have the tremendously sin-filled past. Ours is the testimony to repentance and the redemption of God on two small souls.

The typical response is, “We had no idea you two were like that.” I tried really hard to not say, “Oh, yes, we were very wicked sinners…and still are!” My head covering and dresses perhaps give me an air of pristine other-worldliness. I wished I could have said, “I do not wear this garb because I am pure but because I am so dang awful.”

One girl, however, had the courage to speak with me in my workplace. She wants to committ to not kissing anyone else until it is her husband on their wedding day. I pray earnestly for her success.

5 Responses to “The Power of Testimony”


  1. 1 S. Marie March 30, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    “I do not wear this garb because I am pure but because I am so dang awful.”

    I would say the same thing. In a way my covering and modest dress is an act of repiration for all of the horrible sins of the flesh, and all of the lust I tried to fire up in mens hearts before I converted. Don’t get me wrong, I know I am forgiven by our merciful Lord….but I feel I need to show Him in my own miserable nothing way that I am sorry for what I have done. I cover my hair (which always got me so much attention) as a penance.
    Our world is suffering so, and so many souls fall into hell from sins of the flesh, I will sacrafice and pray for their conversion. Abortion is the sacrament of the culture of death fueled by lust..And all of these sins of the flesh were the sins that crowned our Lords head with the thorns, and cut his flesh with the whip.
    I love Thee, Jesus my love; I repent of having offended Thee. Never permit me to offend Thee again. Grant that I may love Thee always, and then do with me what Thou wilt.

  2. 2 alana March 31, 2009 at 6:29 am

    Yeah, that about sums it up.

  3. 3 goldilocks March 31, 2009 at 10:42 am

    heh. I was pregnant when we got married! And that is the least of it, actually.

    Newcomers to our lives ARE sometimes astonished when they catch that tidbit of information in passing; the long dresses and coverings give people a false (in my case) impression of saintliness.

    Not my goal to “cover up” the numerous sins of my past or my present, just my knees, ya know?

    Does it really have to be a lot more complicated than that?

    (Yes, it does, I know, I know! lol!)

  4. 4 farmersdaughterct April 30, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    This is interesting. I’m just now learning that there are folks who wait for their first kiss until their wedding day. (The Duggar family on TV is the first place I had seen this idea.)

    I’m enjoying learning about your modesty choices as I read. I’m not a religious person, and I didn’t know there were Christian women choosing to dress this way. In fact, I’m actually an athiest who was raised Congregational. I think one of the wonderful things about living in America is that we can all choose to worship or not worship as we please, doing what is right for us.

    I do however worry that some people will judge me for not being religous, that people will think I’m immoral or something, which is not the case. I’m actually more conservative than a lot of Christians or other religious people I know, since I don’t drink alcohol and have never smoked or done drugs.

    All that said, would you mind if I ask what is the reason behind the choice to save the first kiss until marriage? I’ve been wondering, since I understand the reason to save virginity, as two of my close friends did, but I’m unclear on why to save the kiss, especially if it’s not your first kiss ever. My husband and I lived together for a long time before we got married and have no regrets, but I guess that each couple just has to do what is right for them.

    • 5 Anna May 1, 2009 at 9:48 am

      The idea originated with my husband and I followed along (obviously, it was respect in action). For us, the not-kissing-until-wedding-day was a “no regrets” move. We knew what damage is done when we weren’t as physically (and conversely, emotionally) safeguarded and ended up hurt/abused with other people. Since we were really, really, really sure we wanted to be married and knew it were for keeps, the bonding after the first kiss was utterly amazing. I hope this helps you understand.


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,934 hits

