Manalive

Book Review Time.

First up, Manalive. This book is fabulous. If you have never read G.K. Chesterton, I would suggest it as a good place to start. And I am only a third way through! The first chapter is a bit slow and confusing, but once you barrel on, the story (it is a novel) is enthralling. Like Chesterton (300 pounds of him!) in a nutshell.

Second, Outliers, oh so hot on the Amazon best sellers list. A student worker talked me into reading it. I got to the chapter on plane crashes and lost steam. *wink* The first few chapters on personal acheivement were fascinating, however.

Third, The Duty of Delight, the diaries of Dorothy Day. It covers from 1930s – 1970s, as you might guess, over 400 pages! I burned out around 1952. I really do love the woman and want to emulate her, but I couldn’t take all her life in one go.

Fourth, Utopia. I actually finished reading this instead of listening to it through Librivox. Fascinating. The older English translation (originally written in Latin) was the best. I had to look up at least a dozen words.

Fifth, Up from Slavery, the story of Booker T. Washington. His birthplace was literally right down the road from where I used to live in Virginia. I followed up with a couple biographical articles to round out my perception of him.

Sixth, Depletion and Abundance by Sharon Astyk. I enjoy her blog so I thought her book would be a good bet. Sorry, Sharon, but I found it poorly written and repetitive. Other than that, I loved her message.

Lastly, The Well Educated Mind. Uh, well, there is a lot of good material there, but I got most of the practical stuff while actually attending a liberal arts college. If you didn’t shell out over 20k a year for the B.A. like me, I’d suggest the less than $30 book.

After all that I am consoling myself with a Wendell Berry essay collection, The Way of Ignorance. Comforting and engaging like a cup of brisk tea on a cold day with a warm friend.

2 Responses to “Manalive”


  1. 1 Muhala March 12, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    My wardrobe is colorful…I love green and purple and burnt oranges…what can I say?

    Okay, wanna help with the book thingie? You may very well be the last person. I’m about full. Email me soon, and I’ll tell you what I need.

    Grace!
    M

  2. 2 Sunshine March 13, 2009 at 9:31 am

    I personally love my polos. Being rather larger chested (especially more so during those pregnant and nursing stages), I find having that slight v-neck (if the cut comes too low, I definitely button up more) minimizes my chest. So they in fact make me more modest and less self counscious! I do love color though. When I was in my younger days, I used to constantly color my hair all sorts of colors of the rainbow. Everyone said it was for attention, but only my mother, the artist, understood my love of colors!! Now in my more modest state though, I just choose shirts. And although they might not be modest colors, I can’t deny the love of His creation’s colors that He placed on my heart. But in all honesty, my favorite colors happen to be modest and light, baby blues and lemon yellows!!


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,238 hits

