Pondering Gluten Free

Some of my long-time readers will remember a while back I went through several rounds of medical testing to see what was causing a myriad of issues in my body. One thing I requested a test for was to see if I had Celiac disease. The blood test for the anti-bodies came back negative. I dismissed the possiblity along with the doctors.

Well, now I know that I am Autistic, this sheds a whole new light on the subject. Gluten Sensitivity, while it may not present as a full-blown disease as Celiac, can cause a host of companion illnesses and discomforts which I happen to have.

Jeff is open to trying the diet for 6 months. I told him he would be eating more potatoes in place of bread. He replied with a “Hurray!”

All of you ladies who are Gluten Free, please share your favorite books and internet resources in the com box! Thank you.

6 Responses to “Pondering Gluten Free”


  1. 1 Paula January 9, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    You might enjoy getting the tf mailer from http://www.cookingtf.com
    Kerry Ann has full menus with recipes, preps and shopping lists for gluten free cooking with Traditional foods.
    She also published a cookbook that has several sets of menus in it.
    Paula

  2. 2 Mrs.Flam January 9, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    I have been living with the intolerance’s all my life , I do very well when exposed to western / southwestern meals heavy in corn , jicama and Yuccs. Books never quite do me good.

  3. 3 Amy Shaw January 10, 2009 at 4:26 am

    I am wheat-reduced and do a lot of baking and cooking with gluten free flour. A lot of receipes transfer really easily but you just need to remember to add more liquid. Gluten free flour absorbs loads. If I am making a cake I normally add an extra egg and a bit of water/milk. If it is biscuits I add soem oil to make them softer.

    I hope that your new diet goes well and leaves you feeling better.
    God bless,
    Amy.

  4. 4 mamajuliana January 10, 2009 at 7:42 am

    There are GF recipes everywhere on the internet.

    I go to

    Better Batter GF Flour: http://www.betterbatterglutenfreeflour.com I like her site because she has a flour that I ‘cheat’ with. I find it difficult to get to a health store to get all the different flours to make GF items. Her flour is a one to one substitute for regular flour. She has some great recipes on her site, too.

    Celiac.com: http://www.celiac.com is another great site to find recipes.

    Sorry, I don’t have many books. To tell the truth, when our daughter was diagnosed years ago, there weren’t many books out there. We had to ‘wing it’ for a while.

    Alana at Free to Cover has a GF family. She might be able to help you…

  5. 5 alana January 10, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    We like to mix our own flour, and have had success finding rice flour and big bags of tapioca or corn starch at Asian Markets. So, we do a 1:1 ratio of gf flour to starch and it works very well for us. And saves loads of money compared to those expensive little bags of GF stuff found at the HF store.

  6. 6 Anna January 12, 2009 at 9:47 am

    Thanks for the tips and info everyone!

    This will be a long-ish process. I am allowing myself to the end of February to get totally GF. Eat up what we have, research, detox, and gather recipes.


Leave a Reply

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,616 hits

