Women of Peace

Do you reflect the Peace of Christ?

That question was my reference point yesterday and into today.  Our Lord granted me a small grace to see how those who have chosen to veil are also a powerful example of peace. I heard the quote recently from St. Seraphim of Sarov, “Gain the Peace of the Holy Spirit and one thousand souls around you will come to salvation.”

My immediate thought was, well, who would imagine a woman with a veil trying to harm another soul? Okay, aside from the 0.00000001% who blow themselves to bits and kill others  in desperate cultural deception…. Or those who get all haughty and condemning (meaning, closing the door to redemption of the other person), which is not measurable. I should very much hope that those of us who have submitted to Christ in the veil are trustworthy bearers of Peace.

Peace is not merely the absence of conflict; it is the sound of holiness under construction. Those of us who are veiled in a naked society are walking around like we have bright orange cones on our heads. [Or so I feel, many days.] I fall down, I get up, I ask for forgiveness. Rinse and repeat.

Just in that admitted weakness of failure, which we Christians call sin, is a Truth: there is Redemption possible. I pray earnestly this is what people see of me.

2 Responses to “Women of Peace”


  1. 1 laura January 9, 2009 at 6:03 am

    I really enjoyed that post! =)

  2. 2 goldilocks January 9, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Well, I Wish I showed the peace of Christ, but mostly I think I reflect distraction and a near-compulsive kind of introversion. 😦

    I feel the modest dress and headcovering has lately increased my distance from the people around me, not drawn them closer. More smiling, more talking, more social risk-taking is certainly in order here.


Leave a Reply

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,238 hits

