Going on to the Next Thing, 2009

My Goals, in no particular order (though number one is the most important happening I know so far):

[Adding to the list below…]

1.) Get the heckava out of Oklahoma. Been nice, in a weird windy sort of way. But…I will make a cardboard sign to tape in our car window that says, “Virginia or Bust.”

2.) Go a Year Without Buying the Following: Shoes (caveat: snow boots, if necessary) and Pens. We have enough pens to copy the entire Bible a dozen times, I kid you not.

3.) Lose weight or get pregnant or both. Preferably option one before option two, but I’ll take option two in my current dress size.

4.) Do a complete media fast once a month. Jeff and I did one of these on December 31st and loved it. No music, no tv, no radio, no internet or computer usage. Ahhhh….

5.) Who knows what will come of Numero Uno. Shall I work or not? Will my parents need me to help out at home? In which town will we live? Expect tossed salad living after May. πŸ˜‰

6.) Make friends with Vegetables. Learn new recipes that husband will eat.

10 Responses to “Going on to the Next Thing, 2009”


  1. 1 Kristen January 5, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Pens seem to run away at this house. They must all be running to your house. πŸ™‚

    Shalom

  2. 2 goldilocks January 5, 2009 at 11:49 am

    The monthly media fast sounds GREAT. (And doable. I think. At the moment, I’m on the internet, my kids are watching PBS, and the radio is playing in the kitchen. D’oh!)

    My New Years resolution is to spend less time getting sucked into silly cultural/political arguments on the Net, and more time doing fun crafty stuff in the Real World.

    Sewing and paper-crafting make me feel so happy, and having repetitive arguments with your standard-issue secular-humanist progressives makes me feel sick, so why do I keep spending my precious free time doing the latter instead of the former????

  3. 3 goldilocks January 5, 2009 at 11:57 am

    hey, and anyway, losing weight before getting pregnant is sort of like vacuuming before you let toddlers play with confetti. hehe.

  4. 4 Anna January 5, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    Goldilocks: LOL, LOL. You are right…but I’d at least like to get the cookie crumbs up before the confetti goes down.

    Kristen: How did they march all the way here? πŸ˜‰

  5. 5 goldilocks January 6, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    Anna, I was just sort of perusing the previous posts, and I kind of think you might work at the same university as my mom? The Christian one in OKC? Her name is B renda Clark.

    • 6 Anna January 6, 2009 at 1:02 pm

      Goldilocks: Nope, not the same university or same city. πŸ™‚ You are correct in guessing from my disjointed narrative that Universities in general have the same difficulties.

      ~Anna

  6. 7 goldilocks January 6, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    ah, well, I am sure that’s true. Was going to have you say hi to her for me!

  7. 8 Lisa January 6, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    Sounds like some good goals, especially since you know that you will be heading to VA at some point soon. As to the losing weight – I’ve seen a picture of you – not needed so far as I can tell. πŸ™‚

  8. 10 susanne430 January 6, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    I enjoyed reading your list. You’re funny. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 415,755 hits

