In Which We are Moved Elsewhere

For all those who have followed our saga in Ohio: Our plans have changed.

The new point of interest is Virginia.

We came to the peaceful, certain understanding that our responsibility to my parents in this season of life is top priority. My mother’s health has not improved after four years of battling cancer. While there is no official prognosis, I want to make sure I am fulfilling my daughterly role by living close to her and my father. I have the least “entanglements” of my other siblings like children or mortgages.

It was bittersweet telling our Farm Friends that we could not move to their place this winter or spring. They kept the door open to us, for whenever we are free to venture northwards again. I like having the comfort knowing an old farmhouse tucked away in the hills is inviting us in.

Our new focus will be to move at the end of May to Roanoke, Virginia. I finished my undergrad degree in that area. An older brother lives not too far away in mid-state. The job prospects for Jeff are better in Virginia than in Oklahoma. The natural beauty is incredible; the people are unfailingly kind. One other positive outlook is the local food economy is rather strong. I eagerly await the first peaches, apples, plums, eggs, milk, and all other locavore goodness the Blue Ridge mountains have to offer.

We will do well there. Pray for us.

6 Responses to “In Which We are Moved Elsewhere”


  1. 1 Anne December 12, 2008 at 11:44 am

    When will you be moving? I’ll be praying for you. I read your blog all the time, and I feel like you’re a friend.

    We are also moving this month, from Iowa to Minnesota. My husband is becoming the pastor of a small church there. We’re knee deep in boxes and packing mess at the moment.

    Hugs,
    ~Anne

  2. 2 amberpeace December 12, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    I have lots of friends in that area, and am 4 hours away!
    I commend you living near your parents. I’m very proud to say that both of my grandmothers died in home, and not in a nursing home.

  3. 3 kaekae December 12, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    welcome to the area (a bit early).
    actually, I rarely go to roanoke. It’s too big a city for me to drive in (really bad driver). The science museum is nice tho.
    The small towns (and smaller cities) in the area are nice.

  4. 4 kaekae December 12, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    Oh and check out horseandbuggyproduce.com. If you are in their area and can’t have your own mini-farm, they are a great alternative.

  5. 5 Lisa December 15, 2008 at 8:14 am

    It sounds like you are being led in a really positive way. May your coming move and all the prep therefore go really well.

  6. 6 Leslie December 19, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    We live in Floyd County if you would ever like to visit. And my daughter has been seriously considering going to Hollins. (I went to Wellesley so am all for women’s colleges if college must be attended in the usual way.) Maybe you could tell her what your experience was like there sometime when you have time.

    It sounds as if you have made a very worthy decision. We wish you well.


Leave a Reply

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,616 hits

