My Twilight Moment

I was chatting with an 18 year old friend of mine recently about the book/movie. She was campaigning her parents to have her 15 yo sister join her at the movie theater that evening. I didn’t know much about the story (dare not even waste brain cells on 500 pages x4 or two hours of my precious time surrounded by drooling teens and their grand/mothers in the theater) so I asked what the big dealio was.

She had actually read the first 400 pages of the first book, but then gave up because, “It just went on and on about how hot Edward was…Normally I hate not finishing a book…but I couldn’t see the point of reading another 100 pages about how hot Edward was.”

Tee-hee. I never had that problem with Jane Austen. She showed, not told.

Later on, at the Thanksgiving dinner table, another adult near my age asked her what the point was about a teenage vampire.

“Its so cool that a vampire would put aside his animal instincts because he loved a normal girl.”

“Isn’t that what regular, decent young men have to do anyway?” I replied.

My young friend had hit the dracula in the nose.

This is what girls and women really, really want and go all Chiroptera Poop crazy over: Men who put aside their vast biological instinct to reproduce -NOW- to court, charm, and rescue women.

The real poverty is…the same nutty females wearing “Edward Prefers Brunettes” t-shirts won’t even recognize they could live their fantasy.They settle for hook-ups, three marriages, and perpetual botox beauty myths.

Men have and will continue to deny their animal insticts only if they demand it of them. Then magical romance tales will no longer dance in their heads. They will be dancing at their 50th wedding anniversary.


2 Responses to “My Twilight Moment”


  1. 1 Ginny December 2, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    That last paragraph is profound. We are looking forward to our 50th anniversary.
    😀

  2. 2 risa b December 10, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    We have been together 32 years. That, I think, is because we highly regard drinking coffee together and having conversations in which neither insults the other’s intelligence (or not very often, anyway). 😉

    Very nice here — thank you for your blog.


Leave a Reply

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,238 hits

