I am Not You

:::Edited below:::

There has been this awareness in my mind, somewhere between, “I need to feed the cat” and “Jesus might come back tomorrow” that I just can’t shake:

I am Not You.

My dear regular readers are of all types. I love you with sisterly affection. But….

I am NOT You.

My language might be rough. I work an 8-5 job. I do not have children. I do not own a house. I got married at the old age of 27. I lived a completely pagan lifestyle for 5 years as a younger adult. I have a college degree. My apartment is seriously messy. I love to have a great glass of wine once or twice a month. I even like the Bourne movie series. Oh, wait, I have a television set.

Now there is plenty you would have in common with me. I do want children. I want a house. I use clean language 98.5% of the time. I can bake, cook, sew, knit, get all girly-goofy over baby outfits, and drink gobs of Lady Earl Grey tea. I wear dresses & skirts 95% of the time, too. My hair is almost waist length.

In the blogosphere, I am too worldly and I am too feminine. Squeeky clean on one side of the coin and hopelessly grimy on the other. I just don’t fit in with either crowd. What I try to do here on the blog is to serve as a bridge between the homeschooling sahm circles and the Everyday Janes like me. I go back and forth across this bridge daily. You’d be amazed what is on the other side. 😉

So if my word selection or links lead you to believe that I am utterly carnal, ya know, I try to listen to your comments. When I link into something, I do so because that particular thing is pretty cool to me…and probably pretty cool to dozens of other people. I fix those things I can fix and leave those other peoples’ problems for themselves.

13 Responses to “I am Not You”


  1. 1 alana November 24, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    I know you aren’t me or anything like that, but that post sounds like something I could have written. I can relate, at any rate.

  2. 2 Amy November 24, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    Tsk tsk you bad girl, you! 😛 Kidding, of course, and the feelings you have shared in this post are ones I can much relate too.

  3. 3 mamajuliana November 24, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    In other words, you are a real person?!
    I like that in people~

    Yep!

  4. 4 Patti November 24, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    I like that you’re not me 🙂

    I like that you are so layered, that you are not a stereotype of what people think of when they think of a modest woman, or a Christian woman, or a woman on the autistic spectrum, or of anything else. You’re complex and not afraid to share that with the world, though it might be easier sometimes to put yourself out there in a way that doesn’t irritate someone’s comfort zone.

    Stay you, Anna.

  5. 5 Christine November 24, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    How very beautifully said! Amen!!

    I just had this type of discussion on my own blog (a couple of time actually LOL!). We should be different. We are all going to be on a different page but in the end we are all the same… women choosing to follow the path of Christ.

    Your post seemed very much like something that I would write about myself. I think there are very few out there who can say they didn’t have some bumps on the road. But you know what? Those are the bumps that we get over that take us to where we needed to be. And we might all have a few more bumps along the way… but that’s OK. Because that’s life!

    God Bless You & Stay The Way You Are!!
    Christine, The Christian Hippie

  6. 6 amberpeace November 24, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    I’m GLAD I can read a Christian woman’s blog that doesn’t make me feel like I’m sinning because I wasn’t married at age 18 and chose to be a sahm after being a stay-at-home daughter!

  7. 8 akhomeschoolfun November 24, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    I think the world would be very boring if we were all exactly alike. It is our differences that make life (and blogging) interesting. It is how we grow. I had similar discussion especially around the election on my blog.

  8. 9 curvaliscious November 27, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Oh, i could have written this post – even your description fits me!

  9. 10 taijiya November 28, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    I may be more like your earlier self, but I’m still interested in what your current self has to say. 🙂

  10. 11 Katie November 29, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    Anna, you could have been describing me, too. I feel like I live in several worlds (almost literally to an extent since we move so often with the Army). More conservative and feminine than these over here, more worldly than those over there, shared experiences with some and not others…you’re not the only oddball, dear.

  11. 12 Sarah November 30, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    So you are a “rebel with a cause”? That’s what they have always called me. 😉

  12. 13 goldilocks January 7, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    Makes sense to me. Sometimes I think some conservative Christians can just unwittingly strangle the beauty and interest right out of life in a sincere effort to Make Things Right.

    Of course, hardline pagans do much the same on their end of the court, and I don’t excuse them, either; they can get to a point where they can no longer even say anything coherent about the world around them to anyone outside their circle, so adrift in a sea of relativism are they.

    Most of us monkeys in the middle must get along as best we can. (and my language in public is probably a lot rougher than anyone’s, here– a recent acquaintance was shocked and amused to hear me drop an f-bomb in a casual conversation about work. LOL. Guess he took me to be more conservative than I really am.)


Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,931 hits

