Modest Secretaries’ Club

Care to join?

modest-secretary-2

Scarf – Walmart, $5.

Skirt – J.C. Penny’s, $17.99, many gorgeous, machine washable skirts on sale right now!

Sweater – Target from several years ago.

Shoes – sensible black pumps.

Those scarves from Walmart are the BEST!!! I bought three last night and will probably get two or three more. They are light as a feather, wide, long, and warm. The temps were below freezing this morning; I did not shiver at all with my head covered in this scarf. I also discovered a semi-hijab wrap that is warmer and more modest. Tutorial pending.

12 Responses to “Modest Secretaries’ Club”


  1. 2 alana November 21, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    You look gorgeous. I was looking at those scarves yesterday….

  2. 3 LisaM November 21, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    What a coincidence – I was thinking that I would go check those scarves out; it looks so pretty, and your description sounded so nice. Surprise, my husband just came in from a trip to West Virginia, with three of them (one is actually the Kmart brand). I like that the texture keeps it from falling back off your head so easily too. (He told me that he saw a couple of ladies there wearing them for worship and asked where they’d gotten them.) Now I just need to find some of those pretty skirts… 🙂

  3. 4 Kim November 21, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    You look so cozy! I am totally checking out those scarves tonight – I pray our store has them. I didn’t know Penney’s sold longer skirts. I’m going to have to check them out. 😀

  4. 5 amberpeace November 22, 2008 at 11:19 am

    I like the scarves, I just feel wrong shopping at walmart, though.

  5. 6 Lacy November 22, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    Oooh, very pretty, Anna! 😀

  6. 7 Anna November 22, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Amber,

    Ya know, I wish we had a choice…but Wally-World is the only game in town. There was another local grocery chain we shopped at, but they closed. Very sad. Oh, I should add there is a third grocery chain…but it is just as scary as WM.

    I did receive some other scarves in the mail today…from an ethical source. 🙂

    ~Anna

  7. 8 amberpeace November 23, 2008 at 10:30 am

    Whoot!
    I’ve had some friends pick me up some very nice scarves recently, and I think that if I can learn to crochet the fine cotton yarn, I could make something that wouldn’t suffocate the head.

  8. 10 Dawn November 25, 2008 at 10:22 am

    This is a wonderful picture of you my friend! Your whole outfit coordinates perfectly. 🙂
    I seen those scarves at Wally World when you first mentioned them. I looked at them, then looked at my fat head and realized that the scarves ‘just aren’t me’. I think they look great on you though. 🙂

    God Bless You!

  9. 11 Muhala November 30, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    I’ll eagerly await the semi-hijab tutorial! You look great!

    grace,
    Muhala

  10. 12 goldilocks January 2, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    super cute. I aaaalmost bought that very same silver scarf last week, but it’s been so warm lately that I bought a striped rayon one instead.


Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 415,799 hits

