What makes me Happy

To follow up on yesterday. This list was much easier to write…and I could go on and on…

  • God: thinking about him, talking to him, listening to him, singing to him.
  • My husband.
  • Sunshine.
  • Kitties.
  • Puppies.
  • Watching older married couples hold hands while walking in the grocery store.
  • Carolina Wrens.
  • When my mom sends me something, even just a little encouragement card.
  • When my dad calls me while he walks the dog.
  • A well-fitting dress or skirt.
  • Chocolate.
  • Flowers. Flowers. Flowers.
  • Pink.
  • Green.
  • Handmade pottery.
  • Children stomping in puddles.
  • Babies in wraps/slings/carriers.
  • People who overcome some sort of adversity to accomplish a brilliant, beautiful, kind, or loving act.
  • Seeing-eye dogs.
  • Little girls twirling in a new dress.
  • Other women who dress modestly.
  • Being able to take a walk or go hiking.
  • Fresh air after a rain.
  • Knitting.
  • Art Museums.
  • Historical sites.
  • Hot chocolate (as differentiated from regular Chocolate above.)
  • Snow.
  • Springtime.
  • Autumn.
  • Teaching others about something I like.
  • Drawing or Painting.
  • Baking bread.
  • Mozart, Haydn, Handel, Vivaldi, Bach, Beethoven, Mendelssohn, etc.
  • Spotting another Aspie in public.
  • Christmas.
  • The Internet (most of the time.)
  • Pretty new calendars.
  • Opening packages.
  • The perfect pair of brown shoes.
2 Responses to “What makes me Happy”


  1. 1 Sheila November 3, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Hey- I’m the person who disagreed with you on Life in a Shoe, but wanted to say I like the things that make you happy. Most of those things make me happy too, except not the internet. It is useful for sure. Cable TV doesn’t make me happy either kind of like the internet (because I know how it is abused and what degrading filth and lies are displayed on them daily.)

    I was curious how old you are. I am 35 yrs with 3 children and one on the way. Would’ve liked to have had more. Let me say that having babies in your 20’s seems to be easier or at least it was for me.

    Anyway it was probably silly of me to come to Kim’s defense in the first place because she doesn’t need me to defend her mothering. She seems like a friend because I have been reading her blog for years and so … there you go. Your blog is interesting too.

  2. 2 alana November 5, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    Your list makes me happy because it is so similar to what mine would be.


Leave a Reply

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,517 hits

