More Thoughts on the Farm

A couple more thoughts for today:

  • After spending only a few days out in the sticks, coming back out to the freeway-hellion hole that is modern life was shocking. I felt like an outsider from a third-world country or an Amish child who garnered his first roadtrip in a (hired) van. All of the vast expanses of roads, miles upon miles of asphalt for what… It made my heart open up to what the possibilities of living rurally will be like. Those 80 acres seemed like a kingdom in microcosm. My life would be smaller – and immeasurably richer- for going local.
  • Up on the hill tops where the vineyard is located, you can see for a few miles in every direction. The nifty thing is…you cannot see any electrical lines because all the utilities run along the valley roads. I like that.
  • Part of moving out to the farm would entail me switching around my blogging/writing activities. This blog might be morphed into another personal site. I also have a hankering to start some “professional” writing for pay. Its an idea I have been harboring for a while for when I could switch careers into being a housewife. Then I would be a housewife on a farm, with a small B&B to manage and a gazillion other projects in the works. If I don’t write, I would pop! 🙂
1 Response to “More Thoughts on the Farm”


  1. 1 Paula October 23, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    So happy for you Anna. I am sure you will be in your element.
    I have lived in town very briefly. Not the best.
    We still plan to open a small B&B on our 1 acre that will be part of Steve’s guiding business. A couple of little cabins with all the emenities (sp?).
    I am on the cusp of starting Nourishing Traditions classes here at the house. The interest is VERY high. Even the people from our local natropath herb store are coming!
    I wil be writing more about it later today.
    I had a brief letter from Sally Fallon in regards to getting a full WAPF conference up here, and she said we needed more WAPF members. I told her I would start a membership drive ;o) .
    Paula


Leave a Reply

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,045 hits

