Thoughts on the Farm

Collections of thoughts I have had over the two day drive back home to Lawton….

  • At first I was kinda put off by all the hills. Jeff listed the twisty-turny roads as one of only two Negatives on our developing list. You can’t tell by the pictures, but the property only has a few slight sloping or flat places, the remaining acreage is steep rolling ridges punctuated by wooded ravines. My mental construct for my “dream” farm was a flatter section of earth. But…my paradigm is shifting. 🙂 If Stuff really does hit the fan, I think having a sizable intact woodland is a big plus. Deer, nut trees, berries, herbs, etc. all growing at God’s command. This beats trying to eeek out all your edibles from the dirt. Free firewood. You get the picture.
  • I will get “strong” as our hostess said, climbing those hills and ravines. She says the hill country people have the straightest backs and best health of any she has met. I believe her…boy, I thought I was in decent shape for a city girl…huff, puff up the first hill! I won’t need my Firm Fanny Lifter.
  • The house is old and…frankly…drafty. My poor feet went numb the first night. The hosts scrambled to find wool socks and set me beside a space heater. They were walking around barefoot! I will need a season of shivering to harden off to the cold again. I need to knit socks…lots of them.
  • The pensive photo of me by the barn is actually me sizing up a potential garden spot. 🙂
  • The culture of the area was a little surprising for a “northern” country…it sounds like the “south” in many ways. This is ok; we understand Southern ways. 😉 I just had no idea about the deep history of the town/county which still affects the daily life of its people.
  • I forgot to take a photo of the B&B. It is tucked behind the main house, built three years ago. Downstairs is a mom-in-law suite with a mom-in-residence and upstairs is the large B&B room. It can sleep 4 comfortably.
  • There is much work to do on the farm! In thirty years of habitation, the residents have only really just started in on the surface.
  • More thoughts later….
2 Responses to “Thoughts on the Farm”


  1. 1 peacefulacres October 22, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Oh Anna, it sounds lovely. I guess it’s in my blood to love the rolling hills and mountains. My people were the “highlanders” of Scotland! Yours must have been of the “flat lands”!

    I’m hoping it doesn’t all hit the fan! BUT I know God will provide and take care of His own. We’re thinking of getting a jersey girl. We’re in the praying mode right now though. I’ll be remembering you to the Lord for His direction. “Thou will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on Thee.”
    Diane

  2. 2 mamajuliana October 22, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Welcome to the hills! I grew up with all of these hill and windy roads in the mountains of Western Pennsylvania. Every time we travel to somewhere flat I always get a bit nervous…I miss my mountain country!

    To me it sounds like a wonderful life…except for the numb feet part!


Leave a Reply

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,136 hits

