Are You with the Circus?

Headcovering Moment:

I attended an event on campus where a regionally known historian/author was to speak. She wears a “prairie” type dress as part of her presentation. Well, yours truly forgot this part of the show. I picked out my new blue jumper and blouse combo [mental note – will insert pic tonight] this morning. Add to that a simple white kerchief…and you know what happened….

I sit down near the front because my duty was to photograph the event. A lady to my left leans over and asks if I were a part of the presentation. At first my mind did not fully compute what she was asking.

“No, I work here at the library.”

“Oh, I thought by the way you are dressed that you were with the author.”

“I’m dressed like this every day.”

She was rather embarrassed. I didn’t mean to do that to her…Ooops. Another astute woman on my right jumped in and asked if I were Mennonite. Close, I replied and let it go.

9 Responses to “Are You with the Circus?”


  1. 1 Amy Brigham October 2, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    hehe, I’m always a bit amazed & amused at the reactions I get about my tichel style headcoveirng. We live in an area with a fairly large Muslim population and I will frequently be asked if I’m a Muslim. One time when I nicely said my no, the woman then asked if I was sure. LOL. “Ummm…let me double check real quick….”

    Of course, I’m frequently thought to be LDS, too. “Your last name is Brigham and you can food! Are you Mormon?!?!?!” 😛

  2. 3 amberpeace October 3, 2008 at 10:57 am

    I once stuck a scarf on my head for a wedding because my hair was pretty awful looking.
    I had no less than six people ask me if I had convered to Eastern Orthodoxy.

  3. 4 Mom To Many October 3, 2008 at 11:21 am

    I wear quite a variety of head covering styles so I keep people guessing. However, I have been thought to be Amish, Mennonite, Muslim, Orthodox and Jewish. 🙂 My responses have varried depending on how or why they asked. I guess I’m getting better at simply stating that I’m a beleiver in Jesus the Messiah and cover out of a desire to be obedient.

  4. 5 Sarah October 3, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    Sometimes I wear my head covering to Walmart after church. I get some really weird looks, expect from the Amish. They always smile and nod. 🙂

  5. 6 alana October 3, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    No one EVER smiles and nods at me. I’ve seen a few other scarf wearing women do a bit of a double take, and I wonder if it’s a headcovering thing, but don’t know for sure.

    No one ever confuses me with being Muslim or Amish, that’s for sure. A part of me sill wants to go all out and wear hijab, though.

  6. 7 Lacy Rebekah October 3, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    That’s funny, Anna. 😀

    People have asked Mom and I if we were Amish or Mennonites, but we just kind of shock them when we tell them we’re just Christians striving to obey the Lord!

    ~ Lacy

  7. 8 Magdalena Julie Bragdon Perks October 5, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    Yes, I’ve heard it all – except “Are you Muslim?” “I’m an Anglican priest,” just floors them. Canadians have no experience of Conservative Quakers, the group outside formal Anglicanism with whom I most identify. No, I’m not a Civil War re-enactor, or from the museum.

  8. 9 Melly Elizabeth October 8, 2008 at 10:18 am

    We get these sorts of comments every where we go. We only recently began covering, but even before that people would think we must be Amish or “Something”!

    For the most part though people have been very kind to us.


Leave a Reply

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,517 hits

