Topic of Conversation

Can you all help me with a little social scripting?

This is the situation:

Our library is cold. The powers that are change over all the buildings on campus from air conditioning to heat somewhere in late October. Until then, we have little control over the thermostat. Sure, the workman came over yesterday, chastised us for having our small space heaters running, and fiddled with the thermostat. That did nothing to change the Farenheit. Current temp: 65 F.

I’m ok with the cold. I wear layers and top off with a sweater or woolen shawl. The opposite: too much heat, is just AWFUL in my enclosed office. Last summer, the a/c broke for two weeks in August. MISERY.

My social conundrum are other people complaining about the cold. One lady (albeit a nice one) said just a few minutes ago as she popped her head in, “It’s COLD!” to which I replied, “Nothing new about that!”

So I am running out of polite things to say to this topic of conversation. What I really want to say is, “Put some blinking clothing on!! LAYERS! Socks! Jackets! Sweaters! Long Sleeves! Go sit outside for five.”

How should I respond?

[Creative responses welcome]

Footnote – Jeff will come with a set of Allen wrenches to close up our air vents tomorrow. This should be a good temporary fix. Then the workmen will gripe at us for doing that…LOL

6 Responses to “Topic of Conversation”


  1. 1 Ginny September 24, 2008 at 8:42 am

    After two responses I would start ignoring them.

  2. 2 Deanna September 24, 2008 at 9:19 am

    LOL….I know it must be getting annoying to have to state the obvious over and over again.

    You could tell them that in light of Global Warming, the library has chosen to do its part to help offset the issue in your area…

    You could set up a special display using books about skiing, various mountain ranges covered in snow, the north pole expeditions…then just tell everyone the cold ‘feeling’ in the library is simply their minds reacting to the book display…

    Hang a sign saying this is Eskimo Heritage Month…

    Deanna

  3. 3 Anna September 24, 2008 at 9:52 am

    Ginny ~ I try to ignore it…but the cold air is the main topic, every day…sigh. Maybe I can blurt out a compliment on their hairstyle or shoes to redirect the angst.

    Deanna ~ Creative Response to the Max! LOL !!! I like the Eskimo response. The students don’t seem to mind the apparent chill. They keep hanging around studying as usual. šŸ™‚

  4. 4 Sarah September 24, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    It is very cold in our office and when people comment I just say, “Hmmm”….(and smile). Then they generally go off on another topic.

  5. 5 amberpeace September 24, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    Yes, I tend to be a smile and nod kind of person.

    You could bring an extra shawl or two When someone complains, don’t say anything – just hand them a shawl

  6. 6 alana September 25, 2008 at 6:37 am

    All that sweaterliness sounds wonderful. I’m just waiting for cooler temps. I never understood people running around half naked all summer long inside of Air conditioned buildings, as if the temperature outside were at all relevant when they spend less than 30 seconds twice a day going from AC to AC to AC.

    Sorry, no help with the script. You could just shrug your well clothed shoulders and say “I hadn’t noticed.”


Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,931 hits

