Tailored and Thin?

There are lots of theories out and about why we’ve gotten so rotound in the last….uhhh….lifetime in the Western world. The Standard American Diet has much to contribute. I was pondering today if the Standard American Wardrobe might have a place in the conundrum of corpulence, too.

At a meeting this afternoon, a nice offical lady was presenting from a Powerpoint. I was looking over her suit instead of listening. She wore a black knee length skirt (or sheath?) with a grey tweedy jacket over it. The jacket was what bothered me: sleeves much to long, the armscyes all wonked and shoulders too wide. The lady in question is maybe a size 6 or so. She could have walked into any boutique and wear what she wanted. I have worn few professional jackets in my lifetime, precisely because it is so blinking hard to find one that fits properly.

My overactive brain jumped to the next idea. What if…our mass-produce clothing that fits badly allows us the laziness of gaining weight?

Elastic. Knit fabrics. T-shirts.

We’ve grown so accustomed to clothing that constricts where it shouldn’t and flops around where it shouldn’t, that we’ve forgotten what a flattering wardrobe actually does to the rest of our self-image. I remember a chapter from Little Town on the Prairie where Ma and Laura are sewing dresses for Mary to attend boarding school. They used paper patterns, but had to alter them because, “No one was exactly the same size.”

In my own life…I must confess to being lazy with my weight management after switching to skirts & dresses. Its easier to hide those extra 10 15 pounds under a jumper. Waistbands be darned.

What do you all think? If all you had to wear depended upon you staying within 5 pounds of a certain (healthy) weight, would it motivate you to restrain your gluttony?

8 Responses to “Tailored and Thin?”


  1. 1 Ginny September 18, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    In answer to your question: No.

    πŸ˜›

  2. 2 Emily Kate September 19, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Yes, maintaining the “fit” of fitted clothing is, personally, an incentive to maintain a healthy weight. The floaty tunics and empire waists that have been popular lately certainly do not motivate a lady to keep her shape.

  3. 3 Christine September 19, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    I agree. I do tend to not be as on top of my weight when I wear modest clothes such as dresses, skirts and such because they are not tight fitting and easily can hide the few pounds.

    But I am making it a point to start paying attention because you can look awesome and modest. I’ve seen some women who dress the modest dress and are thin who look very trendy in their own way.

    It’s motivation for me seeing that combination.

  4. 4 alana September 20, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Some of us never had a shape to begin with. πŸ˜‰

  5. 5 Miki September 22, 2008 at 6:47 am

    Goodness woman were you visiting my mind? I have been thinking the same exact thing! For the last year I have been wearing my homemade skirts (w/ elastic waistband!) & now I have been wondering if that is why I justify everything, (EVERYTHING) that I can shove into my mouth! UGH! I have recently started wearing my store bought skirts again and they are so tight & restricting! I’m not sure that I really like them but I would like to lose some weight.
    What’s a girl to do?
    Blessings,
    Miki

  6. 6 Megan October 5, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    I mainly wear skirts. And I have noticed when I do wear jeans how constricting they are! πŸ™‚ It’s a good reality check to put on a pair of jeans every once in a while, but I’ll still stick with my flowy skirts. πŸ˜€

  7. 7 Betsy December 20, 2008 at 12:32 am

    Anna, Hi! I think it’s economics! Rich people (who can afford a varied diet of high-quality, low-carb foods) wear clothing that is “hard” in structure. All but the newly rich (Britney Spears) buy fewer items of clothing, but they are investments. These folks stay the same size!!! My parents have many such friends, and I know a few things. One lady told me, when I complimented her on her exquisite dress, that she only bought one a year; but that the one she had on was 15 years old!!! And it wasn’t stretchy. Another interesting thing, about weight gain/maintenance: if you really eat right for your blood type (Dr. Peter J. D’Adamo) you will not have cravings and will lose weight. My daughter is asd (we all are) and to help her be the best she can be, we have gone gluten and casein free. Not only has she been able to do more eye contact and better schoolwork, but we are all flat in the tummy now! No magical ingredient, no being hungry, just finding out what’s right for US and doing it. Versus the usual “everybody should (be a vegan, or whatever)” line of thinking.

  8. 8 Betsy December 20, 2008 at 12:42 am

    PS: I’m a God-fixated person, too. Scripture tells us to be! I remember leaving church with my folks, as a very young girl, and being elated that things were now going to be wonderful at home, because we had just heard what God wanted us to be/do; and then it would become clear to me that nobody else took God seriously…I’m glad to meet you. He is real, so totally (omni-) present; and He does not change, although we go from brightness to brightness within our awareness…like taking thin, colored scarves off a brightly lit lamp, one at a time…which reminds me, I envy your courage. I wish I had the nerve to start wearing headcoverings. But we are big into modest dressing, at our house. What happened when you decided to cover? How old were you? Is this something your whole family/church does?


Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,570 hits

