A Dream in the Works

My previous post was rather cryptic, wasn’t it? The guesses were funny! 🙂

This is another hint…with an answer:

Jeff and I have discovered (were divinely lead to?) an opportunity to “Co-house” with a Christian couple on an established farm in Ohio! They have been living there for over 30 years and have several businesses they run on the farm. The couple is older, and with their children grown and moved away, need some youthful strength and enthusiasm to keep the place running. We have planned a visit to meet them and see the farm in November. If all goes well, we might move out there soon thereafter or wait until March when the weather warms a little.

I am more than excited about this opportunity! Jeff and I can live there, help with the farm, and maintain one outside job (for benefits and cash). We would have a legal contract set up so we will have clear boundaries and expectations. I can earn money with the farm businesses and/or start something of my own. [One of the things they will be doing in the spring is raising meat goats, hence the goat pic.]

This is really something we have wanted to do…but would not have the resources to start a farm from scratch. We can come alongside them, learn all the various ins-and-outs of maintaining a property, without having all the extra risk or burden of a mortgage right away.

There are a multitude of other neat details I’d love to share…but this is early in the “game” yet. All I can say, is “WOW!”

6 Responses to “A Dream in the Works”


  1. 2 Evonne September 15, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!

  2. 3 peacefulacres September 15, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    Hi Anna, that is really very cool. I’d love something like that but I don’t think my Honey would. So glad though that you have the opportunity to start farming.

    I have visited your blog before and I do hope you win something from my giveaway! Yes, the scarves do make beautiful head coverings.

    Diane

  3. 4 Ginny September 16, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    May the Lord’s will be done. I hope it all works out.

    😀

  4. 5 Deanna September 16, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    What a blessing!! I am so excited for you and will certainly keep this in prayer!

    Your picture — American Homestead Summer….I have that, as well as the other 3 seasons, on tin serving trays hanging on my wall in the kitchen. I absolutely love those country scenes, as I do most Currier and Ives. In this collection, Spring is my favorite one. Very similar house.

    On that dress — I say go for it :o) Might be girlish but hey — God made you a girl :o) How perfect is that? *wink*

    Deanna


  1. 1 Ohio or Bust! « Veiled Glory Trackback on September 29, 2008 at 8:02 am

Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,934 hits

