Whither to Work?

[Home Ec, 1956]

After posting yesterday about my work-a-day world, I get the hint today that my job may no longer be solvent. I might be asked to leave instead of having the satisfaction of quitting within the next few months. Its all about doing more with less people. Even cushy state jobs aren’t safe.

The new librarian will most likely cover the barest essentials of what I do.  He didn’t strike me as the brightest bulb in the lamp, but it is better than closing the door and turning off the lights for good on my department. I really do (did) like working here. If I had to work, this is what I would have chosen to do.

Am I scared? Slightly. Jeff has six weeks before he can take the CCNA exam. That is a biggie in the computer world. Once he is past that, finding work should be easier.

“Ok, God, what are you up to? Where do you want us to go?”

5 Responses to “Whither to Work?”


  1. 1 Kristen September 5, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    praying for your job situation

  2. 2 Dawn September 5, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    Heavenly Father,
    I pray for Anna and Jeff right now and You know what the future holds. They are trusting You and Your wisdom to guide and see them through. Calm their anxious hearts and help them to relax knowing that it’s all taken care of by You.
    I give You thanks O’ Lord.
    Amen.

    Don’t you worry Anna, God has it all worked out already! FROG = Fully Rely On God.

    Blessings,
    Dawn

  3. 3 Sarah September 5, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    Anna,
    I understand how difficult and scary your situation is right now. A few months ago my Mother and I were asked to leave the apartment we had lived in for four years. We had never caused a problem. We only complained about the upstairs college students who partied all during the night. Needless to say I was a mess. We were not financially able to move, but I knew that God was in this because we were really unhappy living there. Praise God for my Orthodox friends who came to my aid by helping us move. The Priest even directed traffic in order to get the moving van into the driveway! A good friend of mine loaned me the money to move. So God took a terrible problem and turned it into a great blessing. Now I live closer to school in sweet little cottage. God is truly working through his saints.

    I know this many seem like a rough patch, but God will see you through.

    God Bless,
    Sarah

  4. 4 alana September 5, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    I was just thinking about your (that’s plural, as in Your-all’s) job situation today, and said a prayer for you all!

    I’ll keep you in my prayers.

    alana

  5. 5 Anna September 7, 2008 at 7:33 am

    Thank you, all, for your prayers!

    We are keeping steadfast in prayer and alert to the opportunities God might put into our path. 🙂

    ~Anna


Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 415,755 hits

