Daily Life

A working wife’s life (try saying that 5x’s fast!) is probably not as infinitely interesting or varied like a sahw or sahm. Today is an exception. The powers that are have decided to do desk roulette with a collegue and place her in my office for the time being. A new librarian is on the way; he needs about three to six months of constant supervision/instruction before I would have the opportunity of his presence in his actual job description. I am totally okay with this new arrangement. The lady taking up residence (as I type) is really easy going, generally quiet, and smells nice. *wink* We have no shared work responsibilities, so she does her thing and I do mine.

The last librarian, and my former boss, left an incredible pile of junk and files in her desk. I am just now forced to sort out valuables. Wow, I now have 5 rulers, three pairs of scissors (hoard those!), and more paperclips than….than…is humanly necessary in a dozen lifetimes. This must be the underside of a paperclip blackhole! Post-it notes. I love Post-its! The real kind, not generic which do not stick.

The third empty desk, where my long-suffering student worker sits, is now covered with files whose fate I must decide. Shred, recycle, or keep? This could either be an Aspie holiday (yay, SHRED!) or nightmare (this all has to stay and get re-filed).

The weather is brilliant today! Low temp of 62 F! I received my new pedometer in the mail yesterday (pics to come) and can’t wait to get out on my break in 15 minutes to walk. The humidity and heat has been inconducive towards walking on all but my morning break. I will get in a second walk this afternoon.

The Ag department is hosting a Goat Roast and Calf Fry tonight. I would like to have some goat, which is most likely free-range grass-fed yummy. The, err, “calf” part of it is a big no-no for women. Rocky Mountain Oysters. You look it up.

So I get out of cooking dinner tonight. Yeeeehaw! Yesterday I got a full lunch from the international students for a donation. Salted fish 4 different ways, plus bread pudding. MMMmmmm. They also do a BBQ a couple times during the year. Oh yeah buddy! Then there is Chinese night, Indian night, and more free pizza than you can shake a stick at. No wonder I’m plump.

Its break time…then student worker arrives. I keep her busy for two hours, then lunch, then I keep her busy the rest of the afternoon. That’s my day!

0 Responses to “Daily Life”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,738 hits

