Urge to Hug Random Hijabi

There is a cartoon with a similar caption to the post title. Can’t hot link it, but you can see it here.

Last week, I was walking from the student union back towards the library with a snack (or lunch?) in hand. I stopped to chat with a student acquantaince. Over his shoulder I notice a girl leaving the library with a full hijab!! Every fiber of my being wanted to run up and give her a hug. Tell her that she isn’t alone in her desire to be modest. As far as I know, she is the only hijabi on campus.

Is this a normal reaction to lone veiled women?

7 Responses to “Urge to Hug Random Hijabi”


  1. 1 dana September 3, 2008 at 10:59 am

    I’m not sure, but I share your desire. I’m not quite sure what I would do if someone randomly hugged me.
    ~dana.

  2. 2 alana September 3, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    No desires to hug anyone, but I do wish I would chat with random hijabis.

  3. 3 Katie September 3, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    ::shrugs::
    I’ve waved at other covered women driving on the rare occasion I see such a one!

  4. 4 Dawn September 3, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    You aren’t alone dear one…so far in Texas I have seen 6 or 7 covered ladies, not including Muslims though.
    The last covered lady I saw was at Wal-Mart and she had on a white short veil with the lace around it and a skirt and top. I wanted to go up and hug her just like the other 6 covered ladies I seen…lol.
    I am usually not a shy person but I have not asked any of these ladies which church they attend. Shame on me! Every fiber in me wants to strike up a conversation though because covered fellowship is such a blessing!
    I am just so happy that there are other woman heeding the call to covering here in the DFW area. 🙂

    Maybe you will see this Muslim woman again and can strike up a conversation. 🙂

    Bless you,
    Dawn

  5. 5 Mary September 10, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    I’m at a Texas University and while walking on campus I literally see a hijabi every two seconds. I’ve wanted to ask about some of their tops and find out where theygot
    them, and every once in a while I see a drop
    dead gorgeous scarf wrapping.
    There are two hijabis in my class and I’ve noticed that it
    has not escaped their attention that my own headcovering
    is covering more and more hair each week. Turns out
    most coverings suck the moisture out of dry hair, so
    I have to wear a satin underscarf under them and
    that means covering every hair.

  6. 6 Janan September 21, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    I’m kind of new to wordpress but I’m blogging oabout hijabi style mostly…I live in an ity bitty oklahoma town on the border of texas and although I drive twice a week to ok city for university I am sooooooooooooooooo lonely!!! I am like desperatly looking for muslim female friends. You guys should look me up and get in touch… http://essenceoftimeandearth.wordpress.com/ anywho I’m going to add this blog to my page of blogs..i hope you dont mind so that you’ll get some coverage!.

    love

  7. 7 Farhanahz November 24, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Ah my dear ladies! Take it from a “hijabi”, we’re not going to run away if you hug us. We receive so much (read the opposite of LOVE here), that a couple of random hugs will be more than welcome. Now, I don’t want to sound like a teacher, but I must say that for us Muslims, “hijabi” means more than just covering your hair (and aby the way, modesty also apply to men). As you are beautifully demonstrating that you already know, it is a whole attitute and style of living. It is not complicated, nor a mystical “thingie” that just few people understand. We just need to understand that our relationship with God must be personal, and it is a vertical relationship whose state of health shows itself horizontally (your relations with fellow human beings, animals, plants, environment and even inanimated things. And I better stop here, because, as always, I’m talking too much.

    May the Blessings of God reach every cell of your being,
    Farhanahz


Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,629 hits

