Olympic Creepiness

We now interrupt the Bloggy Break for this shocking bit of news:

[This is warning for those potentially offended by talk of and linking to nudity.]

So we went to a potluck dinner last night with our Baptist friends. Its what they do best, right? In the midst of the gluttony feasting, the talk naturally turned to the Olympics. The guys chatted up the various amazing feats of our athletes in China. Then they turned the conversation towards Women’s Beach Volley ball.

“Incredible, how so-and-so and so-and-so work so well together.”

“Yeah, this one girl they called 5’7, but she’s gotta be at least 6’0 even!”

I could watch Beach Volleyball allllll the time!

At which point I nearly lost my supper.

You see…if you haven’t noticed….the Women’s Beach Volleyball teams all wear what I could consider poor choices for underwear. Very tiny bikinis.

The Men’s Beach Volleyball competitors wear sleeveless tanks and board shorts. Neck to Knees are covered.

Just what MEN want to see. Good sports. Ahem.

But good Baptist Men? Of course that is what they will proclaim, even in the mixed company of their wives.

CREEPY.

[Aside: I like sports. I watch the swimming competitions and some of the gymnastics, if hubby is out of the room. The swimmers have these nifty new full body suits. I also enjoy the Track & Field events. I just like seeing people do what they do best and make their families and countries proud.]

9 Responses to “Olympic Creepiness”


  1. 1 alana August 15, 2008 at 8:43 am

    I was a way embarrassed to be watching the beach volleyball (women’s) with my dh the other night. The swimmers afterward were much more modest. Those bikinis are so unnecessary.

  2. 2 Anna August 15, 2008 at 9:11 am

    The defendants of the women’s “uniform” claim that it allows unrestricted movement. The men performing the same sport are somehow able to do all the women can (minus the supportive upper garment, granted) while wearing 15x the amount of cloth.

    We totally skipped the beach volleyball, for both sides, flipping back to the channel to check when the swimmers were up. 🙂

    ~A

  3. 3 michelle August 15, 2008 at 9:32 am

    EWWW! No thanks I do not want to see the volleyball players.

  4. 4 Katie August 16, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Restricts movement, indeed. And if that’s the case, why, may I ask, do the indoor women’s volleyball players, and basketball players, wear shorts and shirts that cover, if not neck to knee, at least enough that their underwear is, well, underneath?

  5. 5 LisaM August 18, 2008 at 7:49 am

    I agree. You might be interested in this article about the Chinese volleyball team… 🙂 http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/dianadow/572954/

  6. 6 Regina August 18, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    I’m highly offended by what the women’s beach volleyball wear. Come on! If the men can cover up, the women can too!

  7. 7 akhomeschoolfun August 21, 2008 at 10:37 am

    I watched the championship game with DH last night. Sure, they wear skimpy outfits. I think that is a take off the fact that is what many women actually wear to the beach where the game started. But you’ve got to admit going over a year without a loss is great. My DH surprised me by limiting his comments to the playing. In fact he’s only once mentioned their outfits.

  8. 8 Mrs. B August 25, 2008 at 7:59 am

    I am a baptist and I also headcover. Loved to find your site. Anyhow, both my hubby and I found it offensive as we where flipping through the olympics and happened upon the women’s beach volleyball. It was quickly turned off. It is awful the state of undress that has become accepted.

  9. 9 Kristie August 27, 2008 at 11:38 am

    yeah, I read a article on yahoo on why the bikini’s they said something about sand getting in less?!! yikes. I don’t think so. I was watching the opening ceremonies and spotted several Muslim women dressed modestly complete with hijab 🙂 I saw only one race where they showed a Muslim woman who actually won (I am pretty sure these were qualifying races) and she was covered. I was excited! lol It was very encouraging to see modesty in the Olympics.


Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,616 hits

