My Cat Loves Butter!

Blogging ladies like to share about the weird things their children do. I just have a cat, but a very odd cat.

Besides the normal cat behaviors like sitting/sleeping on clean clothing, Contessa has adopted several weirdnesses over the years:

  1. WATER – She must have clean water in her dish. Two bowls are better than one. Then she does this little routine of “digging” around the bowl before she settles down to drink. One dish is the bottom portion of an auto-waterer. She sticks her whole head in the first chamber where the jug is supposed to sit. Its not that she drinks an awful lot; she just insists on clean water.
  2. Water in the bathroom sink – Every morning as I stumble into the bathroom, she is right ahead of me on the edge of the sink. I have to plug the sink and put a tiny puddle of water for her to drink.
  3. Everyone else’s water – When the first two are not up to her standards, she will put her paws into your water glass to clean them. If she is feeling especially ornery, she knocks the glass over onto some important book or paperwork.
  4. Alarm Clock – 4 am. Every. Day. No weekends off.
  5. Butter – This is the latest fad. Contessa will not drink milk. She does, however, like to lick the butter off my toast! I put a dollop on my finger this morning which she happily licked off. Tomorrow morning she’ll get her own softened pat of butter on a dish. She will then expect that every morning until she dies.
  6. Did I mention she is 14 years old?
  7. Till death do we part! And she is going first! LOL

I love my kitteh!

7 Responses to “My Cat Loves Butter!”


  1. 1 michelle August 11, 2008 at 10:05 am

    She is so pretty and funny!

  2. 2 Ginny August 11, 2008 at 10:43 am

    LOL! That was so funny! Our cats have their weirdnesses, too. The alarm clock thing happens at our house, also. I usually lay on my side, so whichever side I am on, that is the side the cat taps. Tap, tap, tap, meow. (go’way) Tap, tap, tap, meow. (i sed go’way) Tap, taptaptaptaptap MEOOOOWWW!!! (GO A WAY!)

    LOL!

  3. 3 alana August 11, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    Cute! Makes me miss Debbie, my cat who died earlier this year. She had personality, too, but not quite like that.

    Our current cat, Hunter, is a dumb jock and doesn’t have a personality. The only thing he does is climb the screen when he wants to come in or go out.

  4. 4 Pearl August 11, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Oh, she’s so pretty! My little dog once managed to stick her head into a 500g tub of butter, and eat most of it. She was very pleased until the next day, when she was decidedly unwell.

  5. 5 Lacy August 11, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    LOL. That’s funny!!

    Our cat that we used to have, Stormy, liked to open our cabinets in the bathroom and lay on the clean towels. And he’d open the ones in the kitchen too!!

    ~ Lacy

  6. 6 Miki August 12, 2008 at 7:15 am

    LOL!
    We have one of those “finicky” cats too! She WILL NOT eat any of the soft canned food except beef. If you give her something with fish in it, she tries to bury it!
    Oh and her favorite foods are bananas & graham crackers! I have to eat a banana behind closed doors so that she will leave me alone. I always give her the tip at the end of the bananas but she has to wait til I get my share first. She also likes cucumbers! What a weird feline!
    Blessings,
    Miki

  7. 7 Allison August 14, 2008 at 8:45 am

    Cats crack me up…you’ll appreciat ethis…My cat will kill you for scones, corn muffins (just the tops mind you!), sugar cookies, angel food cake, graham crackers, english muffins – he’s a carb addict!! 🙂 Oh, but he adores sugar snap peas and mushrooms, and not to mention an occasional rubber band! 😦 lol! He loves muffins so much that they can be in a sealed container and he will knock them off of the counter, pop open the lid somehow and eat all the tops…leaving lots of mess behind on the floor in the morning for us to find of course 🙂

    I love cats 😀
    ~*~Allison~*~


Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,737 hits

