From the Archives

Obama Pictures and McCain Pictures
see Obama pictures

Because I am an Archivist and I found this poignant. Teddy was a great fella.

7 Responses to “From the Archives”


  1. 1 Katie August 8, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    ::applause::
    With all due respect to Lincoln and others, TR was one of the best presidents this country has ever known. HE was one to *do* things instead of endlessly talking about them. Surprisingly, too, he wasn’t a very large man, physically, standing only about 5’8″. But what an imposing and interesting character, all the same. If you ever have the chance to go, visit his home at Sagamore Hill in Long Island. Victorian home, yes, but emphasis on the home; you almost find yourself expecting the children to come sliding down the banister with their father right behind!

  2. 2 jennifer August 9, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    were you aware that the link has a photo with the F word immersed in it? I never got the feeling that this blog condoned that, and am not sure if you were aware of it.

    Jennifer

  3. 3 Anna August 10, 2008 at 6:42 am

    Jennifer,

    Yes, I was aware that the F-bomb was on the site from where this image was taken. How do I answer this….

    I am responsible for the use of language on my blog. If any of my blogging friends or resources decided to post something I did not like, I could tell them so. If it continued, I would not link to them.

    I personally do not know the folks who run that site. I chose an LOL from them based on the content and message I wanted to share.

    Crap is out there….so is good stuff mingled in. You can sort out some of the good stuff occasionally and “redeem” it.

    I am sorry you were offended by clicking through. Now you know not to go there.

    ~Anna

  4. 4 LisaM August 10, 2008 at 7:37 am

    I started saving photos (where possible) and posting them on my own site (with a hypertext link so that people would know where it came from, but if they click the photo, like most people do, to get a bigger image, they don’t get the site) – so that that linking problem wouldn’t happen quite as often. I understand your reasoning here though, and I do like your reason for posting this photo and comments. I know of so many Christians who are willing to fore-go voting (and the subsequent complaining that accompanies) because they have no faith in any man or platform running. Sad, really. Looks like our mighty US government is struggling too.

  5. 5 Katie August 10, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    Lisa, and others,
    There is a story that when TR first decided to get into politics, someone told him that he was an honest man and therefore should stay out of politics, because that was no place for honest men. They were all crooks – which in the days he was police commissioner in NYC was very true. Tammany Hall, anyone? TR’s reply was that if honest men kept out of politics, how could anyone ever hope to have an honest government?

    I first read that in a children’s biography of TR (which I still have) when I was no more than 7. It stuck with me quite firmly. I keep reminding my husband of htat whenever he has people whose integrity is less than stellar to deal with. (He’s an officer in the Army, and there are people who really run the gamut from wonderful to very nasty.)

  6. 6 jennifer August 12, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    Hi I thought that I would pipe back in, after much thought and prayer. I understand wholeheartedly that *stuff* is out there. In fact as a Christian I recognize that most of out there is not of Him. That being said, I was not at any blog, but a blog that I perceived due to many things to be a Christian blog. I understand that when you compile a link list, you can never be held accountable for the content every day on every post. But you personally linked to the site…for the overall content or humor.

    As a headcovering, modest Christian I know that you understand that we should not dress immodestly because the Lord says so in several places and that it may cause a man to stumble and lust.

    So when you link to a site with the f word and no warning, you perhaps are causing others to be exposed to the evil and filth in the world. We are to avoid the very appearance of evil. We are to allow the Light be seen through us. Now when we begin to justify an action and then explain in, my opinion, flippantly that now you know not to go there you are not only justifying this link, but trying to validate it by the notion that stuff is out there, and perhaps I am the prude.

    My comment was to warn you. Perhaps you could be more cautious. Or perhaps you mean that it is ok to be exposed to stuff(filthy) language, as it is out there. I pray that I misunderstood your response, as I understand that you are young. We must not only work on our modest outside and respect of submission in headcovering, but also in the inside, because without both our outside and inside modest and submissive, then both are in vain.

    Jennifer

  7. 7 Anna August 12, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Jennifer,

    I accept your suggestion to post a warning or disclaimer in the future. I could also do what Lisa suggested and not include the link in the image. I am sorry I did not warn you.

    But I do not understand your two contrasting ideas of 1.) a warning as to possibly ugly words or 2.) that one should not link to a site with possibly ugly words ever. Which should it be, in your opinion?

    The P word never escaped my keyboard. See my About page.

    ~Anna


Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,045 hits

