New Pots & Pans!

Here is my birthday/anniversary present from my parents! They are a new set of stainless steel cookware, to replace my cheapy college student set. Already I can see how much better they are in cooking things evenly. The clean up is harder than with a non-stick pan, especially eggs. Anybody have some tricks about cleaning stainless steel?

15 Responses to “New Pots & Pans!”


  1. 1 Kristen July 28, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    They are so nice looking.

  2. 2 Naomi July 28, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Congratulations! I’m so hard on non-stick pans, mine don’t last longer than a year or so which is why I love stainless steel. Plus, ss doesn’t give food that nasty back taste that it gets when it cools in a non-stick pan.

    My ideal way to cook (non-scrambled) eggs is to let the pan heat up, then spray with cooking spray, then crack eggs into the pan once a drop of water sizzles. Another trick I’ve learned is pouring a half cup of water (or so) on top of the eggs to keep them from sticking. That way I can keep the heat up without fear of burning or sticking. The water generally cooks off by the time they’re done. (I’ve started pouring water/boiling my ground turkey too–it cooks faster and makes draining easier.) Also, keep a lid on the pan so the eggs cook from the top down as well. And don’t forget an ss spatula and a good strong ss scrubbie–plastic tools for non-stick pans just won’t cut it!

    Enjoy those shiny babies!

  3. 3 wilkinson4jesus July 28, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    Wow, they are pretty! We gave up non-stick pans for cast iron. I like stainless steel too though!
    Very Nice!!!
    Congrats!

  4. 4 alana July 28, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    Those are awesome. For getting cooked on eggs off, I recommend soaking them for a while before you even bother trying to scrub. That’s what I do for cast iron, and I reckon it would work as well on stainless steel.

  5. 5 Ginny July 28, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    I use a stainless steel scrubby and a scotchbrite type scrubby. Soaking is a good idea, too. I have never been able to cook eggs or potatoes in stainless steel without it sticking and burning. I’m going to have to try Naomi’s tips.
    😀

  6. 6 michelle July 28, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    A good soak in hot water and a good scrubby will do wonders for your pans. I have a set of stainless steel ones I have been using for 25 + years! They are starting to fail though and soon I will be due for new. It always pays to buy better quality pans since they last so much longer. College days, well, cheaper is better with all the expense but you will be amazed how much better your new ones will cook things. Enjoy!

  7. 7 karen July 28, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Well, there’s always use so much butter that nothing will stick. Tastes good – but very bad for you.
    Or my personal favorite, I line my fry pans with aluminum foil (I really like the non-stick foil but it is more expensive) and cook on the foil.
    In the UK, they have silicone liners for pans and stuff (even cut to fit) – but I haven’t seen them available here. They would be good.

  8. 8 Christine July 28, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    I do the same thing as the first person. I let the pan heat up really good then I add the oil/butter/or whatever you are using to the pan. It seems to work the best.

    Congrats on your new pots. What a blessing that your parents got that for you. Now you will be a real cooking pro!

  9. 9 Kim July 29, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Very nice! 😀 We have some that are copper bottomed, and we love them. 😀

  10. 10 Nanny Y. July 29, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    Hi! I’m a regular reader but first time commenter 🙂

    I got a set of high quality stainless steel pots and pans for Christmas from hubby and one of the instructions that came with them said NOT to use the non-stick strays because the can create a sticky residue that won’t come off and can make the stickier(the lecithin in it). It said to use plain oil (you can put a very thin layer on with paper towel) or one of those oil spritzers. The best thing is cool water as soon as the pan has cooled a little to keep the eggy mess soft and Bar Keeper’s Friend. It doesn’t scratch up the finish and the smoother the finish the less sticking you have.

    Best wishes to you and Happy Birthday/Anniversary!!

  11. 11 Dianne July 30, 2008 at 10:38 am

    Plenty of good advice here already. I agree with the “soak first” directions. I also concur about Bar Keeper’s Friend–great cleanser to use when you’ve got some really stubborn gunk to clean off. And like Nanny Y. says, don’t use the non-stick sprays. They can leave an awful residue (I especially learned this with cookie sheets. Ruined some with nonstick spray). Get an oil spritzer.

    I have been cooking eggs as per Naomi’s instructions above (pouring a little water over just-set eggs, then covering) for many years and it works great. But finally, I’d also add that it may be worth your while to have on hand one inexpensive non-stick pan for eggs. While I am also a fan of expensive, high-quality ss pans, I’ve learned that there’s no point in getting the nonstick versions of those expensive pans because no matter how great the pan is, the nonstick surface won’t last as long as the pan. So cheap is fine with nonstick.

    It’s also surprising how non-stick a really well-seasoned cast iron skillet can be.

  12. 12 Lori July 30, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    You have all the advice you need to keep those beauties clean. I have some copper-bottomed SS pans that I use along with my cast iron. I like cooking my eggs in the SS as the cast iron turns them a dark, dingy color. They taste the same, but they don’t look as “pretty”.

    I never cook on high and I use butter to scramble my eggs. Seems with butter the clean-up is ‘easier’. I don’t know – you’ll find your own way soon enough!

    Thanks for commenting over at my blog! Always a pleasure to hear from readers! Blessings to you and your newly graduated “Geek”. From another “Geek”.

  13. 13 Martha July 31, 2008 at 6:43 am

    Are they All-Clad? I have a set and use lots of butter and on fast-days, Earth Balance or oil. Happy cooking!

  14. 14 Whimspiration July 31, 2008 at 10:14 am

    Just found your blog doing a web search to figure out how to remove non-stick spray residue from my plastic food dehydrator trays. *smile*

    That is some gorgeous cookware!

    I have had the pleasure of using these before at a friend’s house, and they cleaned stuck-on food by putting some dish soap and baking soda in the pan with water to fill, then boiling it with the lid on for 10 minutes. really bad stuck on stuff might require 20 minutes, but it works wonders.

  15. 15 Kristie August 8, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    we got some nice stainless steel pans last year, and I found some nice cast iron too. Wouldn’t you know it, eggs are sticking less in the cast iron! LOL, they were well seasoned before I found them at the thrift shop! yay!

    If I have trouble getting them (stainless pans) clean I will use a steel wool pad, and that helps a lot. Soaking in hot water helps. I have tried everything to keep stuff from sticking, but nothing helps. I have made sure they are nice and hot, oiled, etc. Potatoes and eggs stick so bad! grr. When frying eggs, I use a little oil, heat it up, add eggs, then a few tablespoons of water, then the lid goes on. No sticking then 🙂


Leave a Reply

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,146 hits

