One Mystery Explored, pt 1

Time to take a peak behind the curtain surrounding my life at present:

Jeff and I have been learning about the Orthodox Church. We visited a service for the first time yesterday at this church.

For my regular, long-time readers, you may know that we have been kinda “out there” as far as our theology goes. Our moniker has been, “Amish-Quaker-Hippies”, with more or less adjectives since we were married. I even wore kapps and cape dresses (still love them, btw).

So how on earth did we end up attending a Western Rite (or Tridentine Mass in English, for those in the Catholic know) Orthodox Church?? Jeff had never been to any sort of liturgical service before. Truly this was a move of God!

Its hard to point exactly where our path started. We’ve been wandering for so long, looking for Truth, for stability, for a real community of people who, more or less, take the Truth seriously. Like my dad says, “Even a blind squirrel finds a nut occassionally!”

For my own situation, I had come to the point where I didn’t trust myself at all. Trying to read the Bible and argue MY points till I was blue in the face, left me, well, lacking spiritual oxygen. My arms are tired of holding a protest sign. Living like we were was like trying to cross the Atlantic in a kayak. Perhaps we might make it…but…no comfort, constant danger of death, and…

We were alone.

God wants us in an ocean liner called the Church, a real, visible, recognizable body of people. That is the second thing that draws us towards Orthodoxy. We like sharing in a similar struggle, a similar path with others. Fasting for extended periods is not so scary when I know I am not alone in it. Praying is easier when you have dozens of others saying the same prayers at the same time.

[If you have no idea what I’m talking about and think I’ve really lost my marbles this time…I strongly encourage you to listen to the Pilgrims from Paradise podcasts, starting from the first one and work your way towards the current.]

There are many other details to go with it, and I have some friends to thank for their prayers (and a couple of saints, at least!) for getting us this far. Small, wobbly baby steps…forward progress.

I will describe the service for the curious in the next post.

4 Responses to “One Mystery Explored, pt 1”


  1. 1 mamajuliana July 14, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    Praying for you and your hubby as you make those steps!

  2. 2 Kim July 14, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    My FIL likes to say that eating an elephant can only be done bite by bite. You sound a lot like me when I began my conversion to the Catholic Church. πŸ™‚

    “God wants us in an ocean liner called the Church, a real, visible, recognizable body of people. That is the second thing that draws us towards Orthodoxy. We like sharing in a similar struggle, a similar path with others. Fasting for extended periods is not so scary when I know I am not alone in it. Praying is easier when you have dozens of others saying the same prayers at the same time.”

    Agreed 100%. That’s what I find so comforting about the Divine Office – I may be the only person in the house praying Morning Prayer or whatnot, but there are tons of other people I’ve not met praying it with me, in their Monasteries and Convents and churches and so forth. πŸ™‚

  3. 3 alana July 14, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    Of course you know that ya’ll are in my prayers!

  4. 4 Christine July 16, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    I can relate to your journey. I myself was born and raise Apostolic Orthodox (Oriental) and there is something very misterious and exciting especially for people who are outsiders to our community. Sometimes one will marry outside our church and they are in awe of our church OR they might think we are to strict and scary for them LOL!

    Good luck with your journey. Like you my husband and I have been on a long journey trying to find a church and community which lives their lives simular to our own. It’s never easy but one day you will succeed at finding your place and it will be glorious!

    Many blessings!
    Christine


Leave a Reply

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,238 hits

