Hijabi Fashion Revisited

For the last couple of days, I have been really, really obsessing over abayas. In particular, abayas from the Islamic Boutique. [Muslim ladies, has anyone ordered from them before? A good experience?]

Here is an example:

The abayas are mostly machine wash, custom sewn to your height and basic measurements, and you can pick a matching scarf! Their colors are a good selection of basics (yay for me, brown and tan are included!). Three of these plainer ones, plus two dressy and I would be set for work wear. Toss in some colorful head scarves and comfy but nice shoes, my wardrobe is set.

They also carry under skirts, pants and slips in matching colors.

Alana was having a yen for a uniform. Maybe these would work? Perfect lengths on sleeves and skirt for monastery wear and…no belts! Depending on your head covering, you wouldn’t look like a nun or a Muslim. ๐Ÿ™‚

Just a thought.

10 Responses to “Hijabi Fashion Revisited”


  1. 1 LisaM July 9, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    I see what you’re talking about… ! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. 2 Evonne July 10, 2008 at 9:27 am

    I think those are quite classy, and perfect for nearly every occasion. Plus, they appear to be very comfortable in variable weather *and* to cover everything without adding a bunch of extra undergarments. Yes, if the material is the sort of material it appears to be, I’d say the abaya is an all-around winner.

  3. 3 alana July 10, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Those are very pretty.

  4. 4 basbousa July 10, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    Check out ebay. They have many cheap, beautiful abayas there ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. 5 kristinsdottir July 13, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    VG, I’ve ordered a great abaya online and I found a second one I love at Goodwill. However, the styles I have I just wear around the house or as a nightgown. Interestingly, I was just thinking I should take another look at what’s out there. I really love the wonderful loose cut of an abaya. There must be one that’d be perfect to wear out and about…hmmm… ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. 6 kristinsdottir July 13, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Just checked my old email and I got my ‘nightgown’/lounge-around-at-home-abaya at desertstore.com, this design: http://tinyurl.com/6c738e It wasn’t cheap, but I do love it.

  7. 7 kristinsdottir July 13, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    oooh, I like this one: http://tinyurl.com/6yrvmr Again, not cheap…but this one has the added advantage of additional heavier layer over the chest area. I like that.

  8. 8 eternal peace July 28, 2008 at 10:57 am

    May the peace of God be upon you my sister,
    i came across your blog while looking for hijabi blogs and wanted to say how refreshing it was for me to see soemone from another faith that shares the same ideas about modesty and dressing. Some of the struggles you go through are so similar to muslim women. i’ve read soem of your posts and totally agree that covered up does not mean that your oppressed. anyways its a lovely blog and i look forward to more,
    take care
    peace

  9. 9 Pixie May 31, 2009 at 9:21 am

    I’ve bought from them before. Suzung is prettty good but not perfect (wearable of course) but the shipping is expensive and slow. I hav ebought from them three times.

  10. 10 Syifa August 12, 2011 at 1:04 am

    Hi! I’m not sure if this will help (I notice you this post was made 3 years ago) but i found this http://caribmuslimah.wordpress.com/islamic-clothing-sites/
    there are a few very positive comments on islamic boutique from muslim sisters, and they comment on many other modest clothing vendors.
    Best regards! Syifa


Leave a Reply

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,209 hits

