The Infamous Prairie Dresses – for girls

Wouldn’t you know it…I am sick! Knew that was coming from all the craziness at work. A day of rest at home….ahhh.

Lookey what I found: FLDS Dress. For kids.

They sell the dresses up to “teen” sizes but no further. Maybe grown women will demand adult sizes. You know, all those closet prairie dress wearers. Wink, wink, nudge, nudge.

9 Responses to “The Infamous Prairie Dresses – for girls”


  1. 1 alana July 2, 2008 at 9:20 am

    Ooooh, I want one in POLEE-YESTER!!!!

    NOT!!!!

  2. 2 cara michele July 2, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    i looked at the flds kids clothes sites and was surprised to see their prices. they have the verse on their site about not wearing costly clothes, but those clothes are expensive! i could buy my kids a whole bag of clothes at goodwill for the price of one of their items. i’m sure they’re well-made, but still, i’m shocked at how much they charge. i’d advise modest mommas to try salvation army and goodwill first, or make it yourself.

  3. 3 cbrunette July 3, 2008 at 7:43 am

    Viva la Goodwill !! You’re right, Cara Michele. I can sew a skirt for less than $10 and buy a blouse for $3 from GW…or less from yard sales or free from Freecycle. Dresses or jumpers usually cost less than $20 if I pull out a coupon for the fabric.

    ~Anna

  4. 4 Christine July 3, 2008 at 8:01 am

    That was neat! Thanks for sharing. I think they dress the kids so adorable.

  5. 5 alana July 3, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    I think they are creepy.

  6. 6 Lacy July 4, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    I think the dresses are beautiful, but very expensive! 🙂

  7. 7 Dawn July 5, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    I agree with Lacy! I would buy one..if they had them in 3X sizes. 🙂 Just one though. 🙂
    Hopefully this website works for these familes doing this. They need money and to make a living just like the rest of us.
    I think if they lowered the price a little it would help them out, but hey, what do I know…I have no idea where they get their fabric.. 🙂

    Bless you,
    Dawn

  8. 8 Beth July 6, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    I purchased the heaviest denim I could find at JoAnn’s recently to make a hand bag. I got a yard and a half plus 3 zippers and half a yard of iron on interfacing. I also got 60″ of webbing for the strap. These were just the materials to make one medium sized zippered backpack/hand bag. It cost me $22.50. My friend who is a good seamstress and I who am not spent 6 hours making the bag. Say we billed ourselves as 1 seamstress and charged $8 per hour for our labor. That’s $22.50 for materials, just denim mind you and $48 for labor. About $70 total.

    I guarantee that the good buys on dresses we find at goodwill were not $5 to begin when new. A skirt at LL Bean runs $40-50. I think dresses are about $70. I personally cannot afford to buy new clothes, or new custom made clothing. But I suspect that if you priced the FLDS clothing against Hannah Anderson or the other clothing catalogs, you would find the prices fairly similar.

  9. 9 marguerite July 7, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    I guess that’s the “issue” with buying handmade. Buy in Target or wherever and there’s some girl in China suffering and can’t afford the train fare home to her own kids; make your own and you cut out the seamstress, you don’t think of you own time really, only time price of the fabric. The LDS women are charging for their time and as seamstresses are “worthy of their hire” but personally I would not buy from them, just as I wouldn’t from anyone whose avowed religion I know denies and denigrates Christ.


Leave a Reply

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,233 hits

